Oct 13, 2010, 02:23 PM
Just some guy
Thread OP
Discussion

Flyzone Albatros Mods thread

Hi, attached are pictures of my Albatros. I have added paper cowl pieces, top rear, sides, and front ring. I drew panel lines on it. I am not entirely happy with them as I pressed to hard on the foam. I am used to doing that on depron. I also added the flying wires. I still need to make a dash decal and paint my pilot. I didn't want to get to heavy so I removed a whole bunch of foam before I started painting. The Mauve is Testors North Atlantic Purple and the green is Tamiya Green. The grey is Testors Light Ghost Grey and the red piping is Tamiya red. all are acryilics. I will post templates of the paper hatches and cowl pieces shortly. I will also post a dash decal when finished.

DJ
to remove ads between posts
Oct 13, 2010, 02:45 PM
Still AWD, Subaru
how does it fly with the added weight and where did you remove foam from?

Stunning work.

Wheels should be green

Oct 13, 2010, 03:17 PM
Just some guy
Thread OP
I am 1.1 grams over the stock plane with the guns. I don't really notice it. I also added a buch more elevator and rudder to suit my flying preferences. I also moved the CG slightly aft, again, my preference. I had a issue with my airbrush spitting or the weight would have been less. I removed foam from the lower front fuselage, the lower wing saddle and the cockpit.

DJ
Oct 13, 2010, 03:29 PM
this was my PZ guts conversion

and this is what i did to help stop the bottom wing from cracking at the 90

Oct 13, 2010, 03:30 PM
awesome work as always DJ!!
Oct 13, 2010, 03:44 PM
Looks great. I'm thinking of trying to mod mine so that the landing gear will snap in and out. That way I can remove the gear when I'm flying over grass; which I do most of the time.
Oct 13, 2010, 03:51 PM
Ooooooooooo! man, that is some beautiful work you did on it!!!!
-SUPER- A W E S O M E ! ! ! !
Where can I order one ;-)
Cheers,
Martin
Oct 13, 2010, 04:52 PM