Sep 03, 2003, 07:24 PM
Thread OP

I am as new as it gets and need some insight.

I am very new to airplanes and my first plane is a groupner mini piper, I have flown this plane about 10 times and find my self wanting a more responsive aircarft.

I can do loops with it and fly it around with no prblems, my first and only crash was on the first flight out, I have landed it once but because it is made of styrofoam the landing ripped the back landing stub right off the plane and since then i have not been able to practice take-offs or landing in fear of more damage.

I was thinking of getting the Acro-Phat, I have done a search on this forum and have found conflicting opinions about this being a beginner's plane, can any one give me their 2 cents and/or any more suggestions on what would be a more responsive plane for a newB that is not made of foam?

sorry for the first long post and thank you for your help.
to remove ads between posts
Sep 03, 2003, 07:32 PM
Been There! Done That!
Mountain Models Dandy Sport!
boomer
Sep 03, 2003, 07:58 PM
Average User
I know you're looking for something not made of foam, but I learned on a Zagi and I'm glad I did. Because wings are fast and responsive, it really helped with my orientation and stick control. And while learning it survived many crashes only to fly again with little or no repair. I'd learn flying the same way if I did it all over again. Phat
Sep 03, 2003, 08:41 PM
Or, how 'bout foam of a different color ?

What I mean is, not all foam planes are as fragile like you've experienced.
Some are quite 'bounceable', in fact, those made from EPP are very, very bounceable. Great for beginners.

Check out the T-52 by JKA. http://www.jkaerotech.com/
Decent price, can be mild or wild, landing gear, steerable tail wheel and can tolerate quite a bit of abuse.
Last edited by William A; Mar 03, 2014 at 04:24 PM.
Sep 03, 2003, 08:54 PM
Been There! Done That!