Hitec Aurora 9 Transmitter - Page 553 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Jul 15, 2010, 11:19 PM
-S-
-S-
Just one more..... Just one...
Quote:
Originally Posted by mando
My skills are limited , and I'm running W7 32 bit.......Thanks...
Should work, I've never done any permanent damage registering files.

-S-
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 15, 2010, 11:33 PM
Parkcityflier
parkcityskier's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by teryn1
What about wind? yes, you probably didn't think about that...right? airspeed includes the wind speed ; GPS does not.

what about climbing and diving as someone pointed out?

Now, adding things up, you are starting to see that ground speed and airspeed can be very different.
I couldn't pass on this one. With over 30,000 hours in full scale airplanes, airspeed does NOT include wind speed. The only time that wind speed is a factor is in GROUND SPEED. Now, let's get back to the Aurora 9 forum, please.
Jul 15, 2010, 11:45 PM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
correction taken. I hope you understand the important thing I was trying to say in previous posts: that wind causes the airspeed and groundspeed to be different.

The only advantage I see in the GPS is for altitude and plotting your course.

Quote:
Originally Posted by parkcityskier
I couldn't pass on this one. With over 30,000 hours in full scale airplanes, airspeed does NOT include wind speed. The only time that wind speed is a factor is in GROUND SPEED. Now, let's get back to the Aurora 9 forum, please.
Last edited by teryn1; Jul 16, 2010 at 03:07 PM.
Jul 15, 2010, 11:45 PM
3DHS 'native'
going4speed's Avatar
yea...I'm an engineer...no one ever listens to engineers I am used to it.

The aurora 9 rocks. Still a little confused about this whole module voltage versus radio voltage thing. Have not fully read up on it yet.

Quote:
Originally Posted by parkcityskier
I couldn't pass on this one. With over 30,000 hours in full scale airplanes, airspeed does NOT include wind speed. The only time that wind speed is a factor is in GROUND SPEED. Now, let's get back to the Aurora 9 forum, please.
Jul 16, 2010, 12:13 AM
Hitec/Multiplex USA
MikeMayberry's Avatar
I think the GPS's speed may be more accurate than you think. We are using a multi-dimensional unit which is not just tracking in 2D. Have any of you viewed the flight data I recorded? If you look at the one minute mark you will see I made a very steep climb and the speed was down to around 15Mph, I then turned around and dove at a similar angle with a max speed of about 65Mph. This was a Fun Cub and I would be willing to bet that was very close to the maximum speed it was capable of. If this were only ground speed then the actual speed would have been somewhere around 80Mph which I seriously doubt!

We are working on other options in the future like a pitot tube and variometer as well as getting ESC data for amps and watts, but for now this is what we will have.

Here's the file again. Just launch the HPP-22 software without having it connected and then select etc, spectra demo. I would suggest you first go into the set up if you want to see it in ft. and Mph as it defaults to metric. Then select view and click the 2D setting and open the file and watch how it plays out. It's pretty cool!

Anyway more goodies for you all to play with shortly!

Mike.
Jul 16, 2010, 12:18 AM
Registered User
30,000 hours.......that's some serious stick time.

The GPS ground speed indicator may not be completely precise at all attitudes......but it should give you a good estimate.

Going4Speed: If your a engineer being called a ignoramus is probably not the worst thing you've been called.
Jul 16, 2010, 12:23 AM
We come in peace.
Synth's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeMayberry
I think the GPS's speed may be more accurate than you think. We are using a multi-dimensional unit which is not just tracking in 2D. Have any of you viewed the flight data I recorded? If you look at the one minute mark you will see I made a very steep climb and the speed was down to around 15Mph, I then turned around and dove at a similar angle with a max speed of about 65Mph. This was a Fun Cub and I would be willing to bet that was very close to the maximum speed it was capable of. If this were only ground speed then the actual speed would have been somewhere around 80Mph which I seriously doubt!

We are working on other options in the future like a pitot tube and variometer as well as getting ESC data for amps and watts, but for now this is what we will have.

Here's the file again. Just launch the HPP-22 software without having it connected and then select etc, spectra demo. I would suggest you first go into the set up if you want to see it in ft. and Mph as it defaults to metric. Then select view and click the 2D setting and open the file and watch how it plays out. It's pretty cool!

Anyway more goodies for you all to play with shortly!

Mike.
Nice stuff. I'm looking forward to the esc data logging. Good for us power freaks who like to abuse their gear. I hope it will be accurate upwards of 400 amps.
Jul 16, 2010, 12:28 AM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
....
Last edited by teryn1; Jul 16, 2010 at 12:35 AM.
Jul 16, 2010, 12:31 AM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
Mike, thanks for the clarifications on the GPS. I like how you are doing 3D for GPS speed and not just 2D. That is a lot better. Now if you could just factor the wind in. Looking forward to the Pitot system. I use Eagle Tree's and like it a lot.
Jul 16, 2010, 12:32 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by teryn1
The only advantage I see in the GPS is for altitude and plotting your course.
And speed relative to 0 (stationary).

Even my old obsolete Garmin 12 handheld GPS has a speed accuracy of 0.1 Knots (0.185 km/h, 0.115 mph) in any direction.

GPS devices calculate speed from how quickly the GPS coordinates are changing at least 4 satellites need to be tracked to get good accuracy there are 29 GPS satellites in orbit and the least number that GPS devices ever see is 8 or 9 in the open. A car speedometer has an accuracy of 10%.
Jul 16, 2010, 12:32 AM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zero2444
The GPS ground speed indicator may not be completely precise at all attitudes......but it should give you a good estimate.
What do you mean by this?
Jul 16, 2010, 01:43 AM
DroneWorlds - TEAM NEW ZEALAND
jackosmeister's Avatar
The world is round
Jul 16, 2010, 02:15 AM
NORDPAC S3
mfpage's Avatar
Gosh I love RCgroups. I learn something new everday.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jackosmeister
The world is round
Jul 16, 2010, 02:32 AM
DroneWorlds - TEAM NEW ZEALAND
jackosmeister's Avatar
Yup, I drew a picture of it!

Airspeed and ground speed are different, because the world is round.
Jul 16, 2010, 04:30 AM
The truth will prevail
skyrock's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackosmeister
The world is round
needs to be proved!

btw: yesterday 8 of 9 RX's updated to vers. 2.0 with no problems, but tested inflight only in my trainer so far....

- where is the telemetry??
- Mike's mikeflight.txt file crashes the HPP-22 software vers. 1.02 in the Spectra 2.4 demo mode under Windows XP. Guess, it's same problem as with the connection problem of the HPP-22 to the Spectra module. Region and Country code of Windows XP has to be switched to English.

Juergen
Last edited by skyrock; Jul 16, 2010 at 05:30 AM.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale FS - Hitec 600mah 9.6V NiCd Transmitter Battery Pack - Good Condition freedomflyer Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 4 Aug 07, 2006 05:15 AM
WANT! Hitec Flash 5 Transmitter! jocappy Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Jun 13, 2002 11:04 AM
Wanted >= 4 channel Hitec (or compatable) Transmitter OverHeadCam Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 May 28, 2002 11:56 AM
FS Hitec Prism 7X Transmitter mt_100 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 May 20, 2002 08:30 AM
WTB: Hitec Flash 5 Transmitter stevevanwagner Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 20, 2002 11:29 PM