Dec 21, 2008, 08:08 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

Floater G-110 Laser cut proto kit build.

I'm not a pro at either the computer nor experienced at participating in build threads. That being said, I have some pictures and thoughts to offer on the build of the kit for the G-110 that Berry Nellums is developing. As is the case with Gobug, the other builder, it was my first RC sailplane also.

I have been away from building for some time and almost forgotten how much fun cutting, sanding, and gluing can be. This project is a laser cut kit and as such minimizes the time required for cutting and sanding.

I hope the picture posting works out well. If anyone has any questions regarding the build, feel free to post online and I will try to respond.

My initital inpression of the kit was that it was well packaged and a good selection of woods and good laser cutting. Although some of the laser cuts might require some changes. The wood was bundled as to the part it went into. Stab, Wing spars, sheet stock etc.

My first step was to remove the laser cut parts from their sheets and sort the ribs by inboard and outboard panels . I took time to lightly sand the bottom of all ribs and maintain in their respective bundles. The purpose being to remove some of the burn residue from the edges and to assure any retainer pieces were removed too.

The next thing for me was to proceed with gluing the 1/16 doublers in place on the wing spars. About this time I discovered that the spars are slightly oversize as relating to the original plans. A minor problem that necessitates deepening the spar slots in the ribs to fir. Actually from the structure standpoint, it add some strength to the wing. Not sure how it will wash out on the final kit.
Last edited by ronrange; Dec 22, 2008 at 02:14 PM. Reason: Add Category to the post
to remove ads between posts
Dec 22, 2008, 12:04 AM