Dec 12, 2008, 01:00 AM
Great Southern Land
Thread OP
Discussion

Another new 2.4GHz system!

HK T4A - only $29 for a complete system!!

See http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...idProduct=8338

Oh so cheap, BUT it has twin receivers! This is almost unheard of in the lower priced systems.

I believe twin Rx to be very important. Why? Firstly I worked in the video industry for 21 years and it is common knowledge there that twin Rx is far more reliable in getting the signal through. If one Rx can't receive the other will.

Secondly I have owned a Spektum 7 (twin Rx ) now for 12 months and not a single problem.

I've ordered a HK T4A to have as a backup system.

I'll have it in a few days & will let you know how she goes.

Kev
Qantas

Like Qantas-never crashed-I wish!
to remove ads between posts
Dec 12, 2008, 01:06 AM
Unreal. While I'm sure the tx is a POS, it is hard to believe they can even buy the 2.4 circuitry. Let us know how it goes.
Dec 12, 2008, 05:00 AM
The reviewer
It's starting to look as if there's a manufacturer in China that's churning out the basic receiver and RF systems for this new crop of 2.4GHz stuff.

I'm picking that the RF section is the same as used in the iMax 9X and the Turborix 2.4 systems. Either one manufacturer is supplying everyone else or they're copying the design (perhaps more likely given the Chinese attitudes to intellectual property).
Dec 12, 2008, 09:36 AM
This just goes to show how much profit is being made by JR/Specktrum on their receivers. The actual cost to manufacture spectrum receivers is much less than the that of 72MHz receivers so hopefully when they feel they have recovered their R&D costs they will come down in price. The cost differential between their receivers is probably in the range of $5 but to charge $50 or more seems out of line.