New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Dec 11, 2008, 03:04 PM
bsipro is offline
Find More Posts by bsipro
Registered User
Discussion

Pilot RC 97" Extra 260 Hacker A80-8


Here is my latest project.
97" (33%) Pilot RC Extra 260
I was looking for a Extra 260 to put a Hacker A80-8 motor. I saw Pilot had a Intro price on there new planes and everyone that has orderd one of there planes has been real happy. so I thought I would get one. (BTW I sold my H9 Carden Yak and a few of my smaller planes to finance this project)
Tony at Pilot RC was great to work with he answered all of my questions and made modifcations to the plane. (they added a center servo mount for the ailerons) I had the guys at Pilot do a little custom covering on the wings. he sent pictures of the plane packed up for shipping. I have my DHL shipping # and I should have the plane on monday - tuesday next week.

The Plane:
Cost $699.00
Custom covering on wings $35.00
Shipping $170.00 (from China)

The setup:
Hacker A80-8 motor
Jeti Spin 200 ESC
Xoar 24x10 prop
5 JR DS8711 servos (out of my Yak)
Spektrum AR7000 RX
2 A123 6.6v 2300mHa RX packs
2 MaxAmps 22.2v 4200mHa 35c lipo's

this is the same setup that I use in my 33% H9 Sukhoi SU26 and I have had great luck with it.

I hope the plane will come in around 21 -22lb. with the lipo's we will see.
http://www.pilot-rc.com/ProductShow.aspx?id=68
Last edited by bsipro; Dec 11, 2008 at 03:11 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 11, 2008, 03:45 PM
FlyingLakland is offline
Find More Posts by FlyingLakland
Sideslip!
FlyingLakland's Avatar
my foamy is hiding under the bed!!
Old Dec 12, 2008, 01:25 PM
jijohans is offline
Find More Posts by jijohans
ROV Pilot
jijohans's Avatar
What kind of flight times did you get with the 12S 4300mAh packs?
Old Dec 12, 2008, 03:00 PM
Doctor Who is offline
Find More Posts by Doctor Who
Timelord
Doctor Who's Avatar
Looking forward to your flight report. Pilot RC has been getting good feedback on RC Universe.
Old Dec 12, 2008, 03:39 PM
appleflyer is offline
Find More Posts by appleflyer
Fly DW foamies!
appleflyer's Avatar
nice, i wish i could afford 2 giant electrics
Old Dec 12, 2008, 09:00 PM
bsipro is offline
Find More Posts by bsipro
Registered User
12s 4200mHa i'm getting 6min flights with throttle control. (3200mHa back in the packs) If I were doing a complete IMAC comp. I would use 12s 8400mHa

I have read a lot of good feedback about the Pilot RC planes, there are some guys over on Flying Giants that have flown there planes.

I dont keep a lot of planes so I dont have a lot of $$$$ tied up in hangar queens. 3 .60 size electric planes = 1 GS electric plane. I use the same 6s packs in all my planes
what's in my hangar:
(H9 Sukhoi SU26 hacker A80-8)
(Sebart Angel 50 Eflite power 60 on ski's)

I allways try to reuse servos / motor / ESC / RX which keeps it costs down.
Old Dec 15, 2008, 09:26 PM
bsipro is offline
Find More Posts by bsipro
Registered User
I Recived two wooded crates direct from china today. the plane is everything I hoped it would be.
the packing is top noch everthing is coverd in bubble wrap. the crate is made out of plywood.
I looked over everything the covering is real good not one wrinkle. all of the hinges are flat hinges and they are dubbled on the edges of the ailrons. the 4" wheels with Alum rims are nice. all the hardware is pro quaity. the carbon fiber parts look good. the cowl and has a mounting ring. the wheel pants are real light. and the canopy is a one piece molded and is real light. I have not weighed anything yet but It looks promising.
Last edited by bsipro; Dec 15, 2008 at 09:37 PM.
Old Dec 15, 2008, 09:28 PM
bsipro is offline
Find More Posts by bsipro
Registered User
today I got the landing gear on (I will mount the wheel pants last). mounted the tail wheel (the plane comes with a real nice tail wheel with a carbon mounting arm.) I used the stock mounting arm and a Alum. tail wheel and Yok that I had. I also used a spring mounting system. the field that I fly at is rough. that is why im not using the stock one.
the tail wheel mounts easy there is a access hole on the side of the fus. you will need to drill 4 holes to mount the "T"nuts I used a magnet to get the "t" nuts in place to start the screws and seated them with the screws (use a washer on the screw when seating the "t" nuts) See Picture.
the Rudder is mounted using a wire though the flat Hinges. I mounted the Rudder mesured the hinge wire and trimed about 1 inch and sharpend the end. it slid into the hinges easy. (you have to articulate the rudder and rotate the wire) the wire goes into the rudder counter weight.
Last edited by bsipro; Dec 15, 2008 at 09:35 PM.
Old Dec 15, 2008, 09:34 PM
bsipro is offline
Find More Posts by bsipro
Registered User
I mounted the servos in the horizontal stabs. I used 40" JR HD servos wires and heat shrink the conections to the servo. the servo fits nicely the mounting screw holes are predrilled just add a little drop of CA to keep the screws from pulling out. I used a stiff wire with a bent end to pull the servo wire though and around the ribs. you will have to cut covering on the 2 mounting screw holes on the Horz. Stab. the H Stabs us a wooden dowel as a aint rotation pin. and 2 SAE allen head screws. also a carbon fiber H Stab. tube.
I hope to get some more done tomarrow. and I should be able to get some weights
BTW the plane does not come with a Manual That is why Im going it to detail. sofar it is straght forward.
Old Dec 16, 2008, 01:11 AM
jfv61 is offline
Find More Posts by jfv61
Go guerrilla
jfv61's Avatar
Good looking plane. Couldn't help but notice all the speakers in the background, I see what you mean by "production". Seems that a lot of us RC geeks have a hand in the music biz one way or another. Looking forward to more details on your build-
Old Dec 16, 2008, 01:56 AM
tIANcI is offline
Find More Posts by tIANcI
Xtreme Nut
I am running 10S set ups with 5S packs. Would you say a 15S set up is too much for a plane of this size? I am not keen to invest in 6S packs. I have been thinking of doing a 100cc EP project.
Old Dec 16, 2008, 06:51 AM
alchemique is offline
Find More Posts by alchemique
Registered User
alchemique's Avatar
15s 1p would be a perfect solution for those of us who use 5s packs. I am looking for a reasonable setup for my QQ Python, it would be great if I could go with 5s packs. Maybe we should start a new thread?

Pawel
Old Dec 16, 2008, 08:32 AM
bsipro is offline
Find More Posts by bsipro
Registered User
jfv61, we all have to have a day job. I'm not on the road as much any more my days are spent in the office. I leave all the fun to the young guys.

tIANci. 10s with a Hacker A80-8 with a 26" prop works great for a 33% plane. with 15s you will have a hard time finding a ESC to handle the Volts. I only have 6s packs that is why i'm using 12s
Old Dec 16, 2008, 08:58 AM
tIANcI is offline
Find More Posts by tIANcI
Xtreme Nut
Looks like I am pretty stuck with a 10S set up ... hmmmmm ... how many amp might I be pulling with the A80 and a 26" prop?
Old Dec 16, 2008, 10:33 AM
bsipro is offline
Find More Posts by bsipro
Registered User
the A80-8 with a 26" pro draw around 150 amps


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Hacker A80-8? jijohans Giant Electric Planes 6 Dec 07, 2008 02:11 PM
Extra 260 finished crossup Sport Planes 7 Jul 11, 2002 12:23 AM
M-100 Extra 260 finished crossup Parkflyers 0 Jul 10, 2002 10:17 PM
Extra 260 finished crossup Foamies (Kits) 0 Jul 10, 2002 10:16 PM
m-100 Extra 260 crossup Sport Planes 3 Jun 27, 2002 05:08 PM