Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Feb 23, 2003, 01:47 PM
dw1122 is offline
Find More Posts by dw1122
Registered User

Increase search term word length please!


Thsi message from ezone's search engine is frustrating:

"The search term you specified (cg) is under the minimum word length (3) and therefore will not be found. Please make this term longer."

Can ezone change its discussion group search to accept a minimum word length of two (2) ? Most other search engines or discussion groups can accept 2-letter keys.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 23, 2003, 02:02 PM
mcart1956 is offline
Find More Posts by mcart1956
Registered User
mcart1956's Avatar
Yes like JR, TE, LE etc.
Old Feb 23, 2003, 06:44 PM
oldpilot is offline
Find More Posts by oldpilot
Registered User
oldpilot's Avatar
IT'S SIMPLE.

If you have a two letter word, just add a comma to it.

EG:- AB, Works fine. Patrick.
Old Feb 23, 2003, 07:01 PM
mcart1956 is offline
Find More Posts by mcart1956
Registered User
mcart1956's Avatar
Aha! Problem solved
Old Feb 23, 2003, 08:23 PM
dw1122 is offline
Find More Posts by dw1122
Registered User
I tried but no luck. I input "cg," and got the same message. Is it that hard to accept 2-letter search keys? RCUNIVERSE seems to use a similar discussion board software and they accept 2-letter keys.
Old Feb 24, 2003, 03:54 PM
jbourke is offline
Find More Posts by jbourke
Administrator
jbourke's Avatar
I will consider a change, but I need some time first to research the load it will put on our database.

Jim
Administrator
Old Mar 05, 2003, 12:18 AM
hweird is offline
Find More Posts by hweird
WORK!
hweird's Avatar
Jim,

Thanks for considering a change in this area.

I was going to voice the same frustration. I am trying to search for AA batteries and can't narrow down my search parameters with the two letter limit.
Howard
Old Mar 05, 2003, 01:45 PM
hweird is offline
Find More Posts by hweird
WORK!
hweird's Avatar
Jim,

Would it be possible to allow this functionality for Members only? May give people an incentive to join to further support the board and receive some added-value. Just a thought. I don't know if you can create different classes or groups within the software.

There may be additional capabilities that could be grouped together for Members only that are not currently available (i.e. see my Boolean post) that put added demands on the system and may need to be limited. I am noticing slower searches. These would be nice to have features, but don't take away from the core attraction of RCGroups.
Howard
Old Mar 05, 2003, 03:17 PM
jbourke is offline
Find More Posts by jbourke
Administrator
jbourke's Avatar
I've considered that approach. We're really reviewing the whole business process right now and trying to figure out what changes need to be made this year to make this a more profitable endeavor without hampering usefulness or enjoyment for our users.

Ideally, I'd like to trim down on the ads and go with the approach you mention of selling extra features through the membership system.

Jim
Administrator
Old Mar 05, 2003, 03:43 PM
hweird is offline
Find More Posts by hweird
WORK!
hweird's Avatar
Hi Jim,

Thanks for your consideration.

I would like to mention the ads are not burdensome to me at all. Actually I find them helpful and feel a little more confident in a vendor advertising on the ezone versus just a random retailer hit through a search engine. My sense is the vendors advertising on the site have been scrutinized by the members and have earned their place. If I am looking for batteries for example, my first stop is the Our Sponsor page.
Howard
Old Mar 05, 2003, 04:42 PM
jbourke is offline
Find More Posts by jbourke
Administrator
jbourke's Avatar
I understand about the ads. I'm just looking to adjust the ratio of where we get our income. Right now its about 90% ads and 10% membership.

A long-term strategy of mine is to change that to something closer to 50/50. That ties in nicely with your thought of giving expanded search capabilities to paying members.

Jim
Administrator
Old Mar 05, 2003, 09:28 PM
DNA is offline
DNA
Find More Posts by DNA
DNA
registered user
DNA's Avatar
Is there a significant reason why the 'Search' can't find the word "zero"?
Old Mar 06, 2003, 04:43 PM
Mark Wood is offline
Find More Posts by Mark Wood
characters welcome!
Mark Wood's Avatar
Quote:
Originally posted by DNA
Is there a significant reason why the 'Search' can't find the word "zero"?
It's only one letter. heheheheheh

I couldn't resist. Sorry.
Old Mar 06, 2003, 11:12 PM
DNA is offline
DNA
Find More Posts by DNA
DNA
registered user
DNA's Avatar
loop,

Don't laugh, I'd say you are correct.

Search also doesn't find "four", "five", "seven", etc.

It will find the word "ten", but can't find the word "nine".

What gives?
Last edited by DNA; Mar 06, 2003 at 11:17 PM.
Old Mar 07, 2003, 08:04 AM
Andy W is offline
Find More Posts by Andy W
Registered User
Andy W's Avatar
Interesting!
..a


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion ultrafly t45 bae hawk speed control wire length. please help! madtech Pusher Prop Jet Models 1 Apr 19, 2007 10:35 PM
Flybar length- please help Fixer Micro Helis 5 Dec 30, 2003 10:18 PM
Lite_stik Fuse length??? Please help Dandi6065 Parkflyers 1 Jun 06, 2001 11:45 PM