Oct 27, 2008, 03:47 PM
De-Brushed user
Thread OP
Discussion

Moving servo arms by hand.

Hey guys. I was taught not to move servo arms by hand when they are not plugged in and powered up (or when they are, for that matter). The reason being, that you could strip or damage the gear train and mess up the potentiometer. Anyways, I have always got on to people in my design project when they do it. One guy I have been telling not to, for 4 years now, and he still does it, I'm thinking he might be just to annoy me because he knows I hate it. Sometimes when he is asking me a question about how to do something and he has a servo in his hand, he will just work the arm back and forth almost 90 degrees while he is talking to me. I tell him there is a right and wrong way to do things, the right way being to plug the servo in and center it with a transmitter, the wrong way being to move them by hand.

Am I just being anal, or is there really something wrong with moving servo arms by hand?

Jonathan
to remove ads between posts
Oct 27, 2008, 04:17 PM
Within reason, moving an unpowered servo by hand will seldom do any harm. Doing so while powered up very well can damage it either mechanically stripping gears or excessive current drain causing possible damage to electrical components.
Oct 27, 2008, 04:24 PM
k2k
k2k
I do it all the time when I'm setting up a plane and I've never damaged a servo. I also put back pressure on servos while driving them with a servo tester to test them for gear problems before I install them. You can feel any problems through your fingers. I wouldn't recommend trying to force a servo into reverse travel while powered up, but short of that any servo worth having in your plane should take up to stalled condition without damage. It's the sudden application of a large force like banging a flap on landing that will strip a gear.
Oct 27, 2008, 05:37 PM