Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Feb 02, 2013, 09:47 PM
jpt62 is offline
Find More Posts by jpt62
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
Time to go groundhog hunting.........

SteveT.





Just kidding!!
Naaa way too greasy...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 03, 2013, 12:44 AM
Conehead is offline
Find More Posts by Conehead
Flutter-Bys are fun
Conehead's Avatar
You got P. Phil, Buckeye Chuck( Marion Ohio) General Beauregard Lee in GA and a host of others. Phil has been right 37% of the time, So I am going with the General, since he said 6 more weeks.

Right now here in MI, it is snowing, 3-6 inches of lake effect snow till Monday morning, 14 degrees, wind chill of about 4 above and enough snow on the ground to float fly, if you can fly in 14 degree weather.

It is crow season in Michigan, not groundhog season.
Conehead
Orrin Eldred

there are many groundhog predictors. It is a way to make money. I am sure Indiana has it's own groundhog, but I don't know the name if they have one.
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:04 PM
SteveT. is online now
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Hi Dag...

Something that might be of interest to you.....CAT6 servo extension modules (send and receive)

SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Old Feb 13, 2013, 12:19 AM
jpt62 is offline
Find More Posts by jpt62
Registered User
Now thats a real nifty looking device there Steve.. bookmarked it
jt
Old Feb 13, 2013, 01:30 AM
SteveT. is online now
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
I thought so....and I was curious as they were saying that it could be used with a servo controller, I.E. for robotics or something, so, I called them, and was told there would be no problem using them with a receiver.

SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Old Feb 16, 2013, 11:06 PM
desertstalker is offline
Find More Posts by desertstalker
Registered User
If you don't need the distance (ie your not building a real plane ) you can likely just wire your servos straight to cat 5/6 cabling. Use a couple of wires for voltage and ground, still leaves 4 for the signals (or run separate power). Actually seems to be what they are doing, just with a level converter to boost signals so they will go 100 feet.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 09:06 AM
kingsflyer is offline
Find More Posts by kingsflyer
We shall serve the Lord
kingsflyer's Avatar
...or, just use the Futaba S-Bus system that only requires a single servo extension to run as many channels as you want.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/sbus/index.html

Futaba RC Video Update: S.bus (Serial Bus) RC Receiver & Servo System (8 min 28 sec)


McD
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: LEDs on my T-28
Old Feb 17, 2013, 12:15 PM
fooman2008 is offline
Find More Posts by fooman2008
Registered User
I WANT one of these! Don't NEED one but want one......
Foo
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:24 PM
pappy35 is offline
Find More Posts by pappy35
Registered User
To this day I've haven't read an explanation of how the S-Bus system handles the electrical load of all those servos. In Giant Scale applications (IMAC for instance) each servo could pull a couple of amps of intermittent load. That, times the number of servos, always struck me as too much to expect from even heavy gauge servo wire over a long run.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 03:30 PM
SteveT. is online now
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingsflyer View Post
...or, just use the Futaba S-Bus system that only requires a single servo extension to run as many channels as you want.

http://www.futaba-rc.com/sbus/index.html

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDQJd1sujIk

McD
Unless Dag has switched, if I remember correctly he is using a JR radio, thus the S-buss system won't work.

SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Old Feb 17, 2013, 05:51 PM
habitforming is offline
Find More Posts by habitforming
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
habitforming's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pappy35 View Post
To this day I've haven't read an explanation of how the S-Bus system handles the electrical load of all those servos. In Giant Scale applications (IMAC for instance) each servo could pull a couple of amps of intermittent load. That, times the number of servos, always struck me as too much to expect from even heavy gauge servo wire over a long run.
Well I haven't used the system, and am no expert in giant scale electronics (so disregard everything I'm about to say! ), but they did make mention in the video above that you can add a remote battery at the tail to provide extra power there if necessary. Just the same, you could run heavier gauge power wire to a distribution back there to feed the main S-Bus hub.
Old Feb 17, 2013, 06:12 PM
SteveT. is online now
Find More Posts by SteveT.
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
I don't think Dag is going to want the weight of another battery in the tail of this plane, or to have to build a hatch to access it either...

SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Old Feb 18, 2013, 09:15 AM
byrocat is offline
Find More Posts by byrocat
Registered User
byrocat's Avatar
SteveT, just a random thought as I'd read your post. No need for an extra hatch, just build the tailgun as a push-in plug arrangement with some rare-earth magnets to keep it in place.

However, any extra weight any distance behind the CofG will need that much more weight in the front end to balance (Archimedes' principles re levers).

To those in the US celebrating Martin Luther King Day, or those in Canada doing Family Day: have fun!
Old Feb 18, 2013, 01:30 PM
habitforming is offline
Find More Posts by habitforming
ΜΟΛΩΝ ΛΑΒΕ
habitforming's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
I don't think Dag is going to want the weight of another battery in the tail of this plane, or to have to build a hatch to access it either...

SteveT.
Hi Steve - I never suggested that Dag do it, as he is already fairly committed with his JR equipment and I'm sure doesn't want to rework things at this late stage. It was merely a general response to pappy35's general question.
Old Feb 18, 2013, 01:35 PM
bhoov128 is offline
Find More Posts by bhoov128
https://youtu.be/Q06Y9X4_DsI
bhoov128's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by byrocat View Post
SteveT, just a random thought as I'd read your post. No need for an extra hatch, just build the tailgun as a push-in plug arrangement with some rare-earth magnets to keep it in place.

However, any extra weight any distance behind the CofG will need that much more weight in the front end to balance (Archimedes' principles re levers).

To those in the US celebrating Martin Luther King Day, or those in Canada doing Family Day: have fun!
It's president's day but we can pretend it's MLK day, that's cool too.
RCG Plus Member


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Good B-36 site (drawing with cross sections, too!) Thomas B Scale Kit/Scratch Built 26 Oct 11, 2011 10:14 PM
Discussion B-36 B-52 kgmorris Scale Kit/Scratch Built 20 Jan 02, 2009 07:27 AM
b-36 dorysch1 Scale Kit/Scratch Built 32 Feb 01, 2004 09:33 PM
Questions about my wally B-36...I'm new to foam. Boba_Fett Foamies (Kits) 8 Jun 11, 2002 04:36 PM
B 36 Trobber Parkflyers 3 Dec 30, 2001 01:33 PM