OSD PRO from Eagle Tree (RTH, AHI, Waypoints, Variometer, Voice, now shipping) - Page 617 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Aug 23, 2012, 10:16 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by electricmick
If you have the receiver type set for 1 F/S channel the the OSD Pro will not know you wish to regain control and will continue with the RTH, controlling the throttle, ailerons and elevators until you move the throttle. If you set it for 3 F/S channels then as soon as you move either the ailerons, elevators or throttle you have control back again.
I didn't realize that, I have only used 3 failsafe channels, so I hadn't experienced the phenomenon.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 23, 2012, 10:29 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
Any body who is interrested


I did a build log.

"install video"



https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1717573
Aug 23, 2012, 01:00 PM
Skilled crasher
Total weigth is around 60-65 grams, as far as I remember.
Aug 23, 2012, 01:26 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson
Michael,

I think you are seeing it do what it is supposed to do.

When you engage RTH, the plane flys its self, but when you move the sticks, RTH is supposed to disengage.
Thanks Guys for your help.
It does disengage when i move the throttle since i have only 1 F/S channel which is throttle.
Still got a long way to go before flying out of los. I did fly a few minutes this morning to check out guardian stabilizer. Need to do something else with it to. Plane keeps going to right after installed. It was flying straight and level before i installed the guardian.

Have a great day!!
Michael
Aug 23, 2012, 04:03 PM
Registered User

RSSI onto OSDpro now possible with Multiplex gear, DIY required


Multiplex rx's don't feature any rssi signal to wire to the osd. M-link telemetry equipped receivers feature a sensor bus (MSB) and the rx writes its LQI (rf link quality indicator) value between 0 -100% several times per second onto the sensor bus. I took a small 14-pin PIC16F1823 and used its built in USART as well as DAC to read the value from the sensor bus and translate it to an analog signal corresponding to the lqi reading. The dac seems to be able to drive the temp1 input without an external buffer.

If anyone's interested, I can post the HI-tech free compiler C code for the single chip solution here ( which also simultaneously hooks up to the daisy chain with osd, guardian, etc, and emulates an ET power panel. The PIC translates the four parameters from each PowerPanel screen and sends them on the sensor bus to the rx, which sends them on through four telemetry channels to my transmitter so I can view the parameters inflight on my multiplex tx lcd even without osd and the video link. Multiplex sensors are expensive and I already have an elogger and gps from ET, so for those non-FPV flights it's convenient to get i.e. mAh, amps, altitude and temp "live" inflight, you just use the ET pc sw to specify what the PP should show, the PIC takes what's given, almost)
Aug 23, 2012, 04:39 PM
Registered User
When running servo wizard for (set throttle for motor off position) should you add in the down trim programed into tx for throttle F/S to activate? Or just set throttle in normal off position during wizard.
Thanks:
Michael
Aug 23, 2012, 10:11 PM
Registered User
Can I just use the
OSD pro expander,
guardian stab expander,
10hz GPS

without
e-logger?

will this setup enable the antenna tracking?
Aug 23, 2012, 10:17 PM
Aussie, Aussie, Aussie!
nrg2go's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by modelerchina
Can I just use the
OSD pro expander,
guardian stab expander,
10hz GPS

without
e-logger?

will this setup enable the antenna tracking?
No

The GPS plugs into the e-logger for starters.....
Aug 24, 2012, 01:12 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by miknce
When running servo wizard for (set throttle for motor off position) should you add in the down trim programed into tx for throttle F/S to activate? Or just set throttle in normal off position during wizard.
Thanks:
Michael
No just motor off. You should have a F/S set when it asks you to turn off Tx, then throttle goes -10 for example, this for Carlyle method?

Dion
Aug 24, 2012, 07:22 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcimports
No just motor off. You should have a F/S set when it asks you to turn off Tx, then throttle goes -10 for example, this for Carlyle method?

Dion
Thanks for info I thought i had it wrong cause F/S was not activating right. Will give that a try.
Michael
Aug 24, 2012, 04:47 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jstjern
Multiplex rx's don't feature any rssi signal to wire to the osd. M-link telemetry equipped receivers feature a sensor bus (MSB) and the rx writes its LQI (rf link quality indicator) value between 0 -100% several times per second onto the sensor bus. I took a small 14-pin PIC16F1823 and used its built in USART as well as DAC to read the value from the sensor bus and translate it to an analog signal corresponding to the lqi reading. The dac seems to be able to drive the temp1 input without an external buffer.

If anyone's interested, I can post the HI-tech free compiler C code for the single chip solution here ( which also simultaneously hooks up to the daisy chain with osd, guardian, etc, and emulates an ET power panel. The PIC translates the four parameters from each PowerPanel screen and sends them on the sensor bus to the rx, which sends them on through four telemetry channels to my transmitter so I can view the parameters inflight on my multiplex tx lcd even without osd and the video link. Multiplex sensors are expensive and I already have an elogger and gps from ET, so for those non-FPV flights it's convenient to get i.e. mAh, amps, altitude and temp "live" inflight, you just use the ET pc sw to specify what the PP should show, the PIC takes what's given, almost)
Woah that's impressive! great job.
Unfortunately I don't have a multiplex radio so no use for me but bravo anyway!
Did you have to reverse engineer the multiplex protocol?

Vincent
Aug 24, 2012, 08:41 PM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
I maidened the F Wing today.

I struggled with the decision to use / or not use stabilization on the maiden,

but I chose to use stabilization, and even though I need to do some fine tuning;

It sure made the maiden a relaxing experience.

F Wing 55in. Maiden Flight (6 min 23 sec)
Aug 25, 2012, 12:19 AM
Registered User
pavn's Avatar
Congratulations.

Could you tell my why there is 0 speed displayed on OSD?

Quote:
Originally Posted by m_beeson
I maidened the F Wing today.

I struggled with the decision to use / or not use stabilization on the maiden,

but I chose to use stabilization, and even though I need to do some fine tuning;

It sure made the maiden a relaxing experience.

http://youtu.be/WQI963JhRgk
Aug 25, 2012, 03:14 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by vpersiani
Woah that's impressive! great job.
Unfortunately I don't have a multiplex radio so no use for me but bravo anyway!
Did you have to reverse engineer the multiplex protocol?

Vincent
Thanks,
I was fortunate to find parts of each protocol on the web. I've documented it here: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1543233
Aug 25, 2012, 04:15 AM
FPV junkie
m_beeson's Avatar
Pavn,

The airspeed microsensor has a high pressure, and a static pressure tube.

I hooked them up backwards. It is corrected now, and seems to work.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pavn
Congratulations.

Could you tell my why there is 0 speed displayed on OSD?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale BRAND New CP Pro/with extra battery stgtech2 Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 0 Sep 06, 2006 10:35 PM
New eolo pro glitches with cc60 aschen Electric Heli Talk 24 May 20, 2004 09:12 AM
FS New Piccolo Fun with bearing upgrade and HA tail motor Bud Morrison Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Mar 21, 2004 07:32 PM
For Sale: NEW Pic Pro rotor head with stiffening mod Eco8gator Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 02, 2003 10:16 PM