RSSI pins for various receivers - Page 20 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Nov 06, 2011, 05:27 PM
Registered User
sharonx's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by i3dm
Does anyone know how to grab RSSI of the FRSKy "Orange Rx" FASST compatible Rx ?
Quote:
Originally Posted by gandal
RSSI pin on Orange RX

anyone have a pic?
or know a link to one?
There you go

https://static.rcgroups.net/forums/a...2-IMGP6273.JPG

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=235

Should I put any resistor ? what happens if I don't ?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 06, 2011, 05:28 PM
Registered User
sharonx's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RENATOA
This receiver is using the ML2724DH transceiver, featuring analog RSSI on pin 28.
The RSSI output is buffered, and voltage swing is between 75mv (no signal) - and clipped to 1.9V at 15dBm.
The pin is the not connected one from the picture.
Thanks.

Should I put any resistor ? what happens if I don't ?
Nov 06, 2011, 08:34 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
I apology for this question, I did a search and read over many of the post here but did not find anything related to Hobby King 2.4Ghz Receiver 6Ch V2. Do anyone have any information on the RSSI on this RX?

Thank you.
Nov 07, 2011, 09:33 AM
FPV ADDICT
Wirewolf903's Avatar

Need help finding the RSSI pin on my 900mhz RX


This is where I bought it about 8-10 years ago but it still looks the same as this one.
http://www.supercircuits.com/Wireles...ivers/AVX900R1

I thought I found it but the pin I connected the red wire to only reads 2.4v constant. I guess I was rushing and thought it was in flux but it's not. I'm trying to connect my Range Video Micro Diversity up. I have this 900 MHz RX and the other is the HobbyKing 900 MHz 200mw one. I found the HoobyKings RSSI but now trying to find this ones getting to be a challenge. I vmetered all the pins and none are changing but the number 4 connected pin. It's at 1.9v without TX connected then jumps to 2.4 when TX is turned on.








HELP!!!! Please let me know if more detailed photos are needed. I was wondering since its so old would it be possible that is may not have a RSSI?

Thanks in advance!

Here are some more detailed pics.





Last edited by Wirewolf903; Nov 07, 2011 at 10:14 PM.
Nov 08, 2011, 12:56 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bakchos
Finaly got this thing done, i had to build a dimmer for my soldering iron to get it cooler.

I question tho, when the Transmitter is off, i have 0.87 Volt, when on at 100 % i get 1.07 Volt, and when the transmitter is in the microwave i get 1.25 Volt.

So it looks like it get higher when strenght is weak, but gets lower when turned off, is that common ?

Here is the pictures,


Hope it helps.

I apology if I missed it, but is there a conclusive output voltage reading? Also, will this voltage vary with interferences from lets say, an FPV transmitter?
Nov 18, 2011, 11:56 AM
Registered User
Has anyone done this to a Hitec optima receiver
Nov 22, 2011, 12:43 PM
Registered User
squishy654's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by patricklupo
Here's the RSSI pin for the Hitec Supreme IIS 8 channel receiver.

100% Signal = 0.680 volts
0% Signal = 0.150 volts

Not much range in voltage but my RVOSD seemed to provide a good bit of resolution between full and no signal. In the second picture, I sacrificed the 8th channel to turn it into an RSSI output, by cutting the servo out PCB trace going to the 3 pin servo connector and then running a 100K ohm 1/8 watt resistor to it instead.

Thanks very much Renatoa for providing the RSSI pins to commonly used receiver chips!
Thanks so much for this!!
Nov 24, 2011, 06:33 AM
Suspended Account
What would be the best 7ch receiver for 72MHz(i have futaba T7CHP) that supports RSSI modding?

I know the corona Rx have range problems(1km on them vs 3km+ on stock futaba branded)

Thanks!
Nov 24, 2011, 10:37 AM
Registered User
cliffkot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatch15117
What would be the best 7ch receiver for 72MHz(i have futaba T7CHP) that supports RSSI modding?

I know the corona Rx have range problems(1km on them vs 3km+ on stock futaba branded)

Thanks!
Actually, it is the other way around. The Corona FM 8 channel receivers have superior range than the Futaba FM receivers. Also, the stock Futaba receivers do not handle glitches well. When the Futaba receiver glitches, the servos are jammed full one way or the other.

The downside of the Corona's is poor servo resolution. This really shows up around neutral centering. I have found it not a problem on some models, but on others it is very annoying. You have to test.

Cliff
Nov 27, 2011, 02:53 PM
Suspended Account
if anyone has a 72mhz receiver with rssi capabilities(even if i have to mod it) please pm me if you will sell it!!

I found a R168 in the classifieds but the guy won't part it from the Tx!!! Lame!!
Nov 27, 2011, 02:55 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffkot
Actually, it is the other way around. The Corona FM 8 channel receivers have superior range than the Futaba FM receivers. Also, the stock Futaba receivers do not handle glitches well. When the Futaba receiver glitches, the servos are jammed full one way or the other.

The downside of the Corona's is poor servo resolution. This really shows up around neutral centering. I have found it not a problem on some models, but on others it is very annoying. You have to test.

Cliff
lol I've been told that the futaba have better range. So what Rx should I get? The Coronas are easy to get from hobbyking.
Nov 27, 2011, 03:08 PM
Registered User
cliffkot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatch15117
lol I've been told that the futaba have better range. So what Rx should I get? The Coronas are easy to get from hobbyking.
I use the 8 channel Corona XTAL receiver on my EZ Star. It works just fine. It all depends on what you are flying, and how precisely you need to adjust trim. Only you can decide that.
Nov 27, 2011, 03:22 PM
Team White Llama!
gundamnitpete's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffkot
Actually, it is the other way around. The Corona FM 8 channel receivers have superior range than the Futaba FM receivers. Also, the stock Futaba receivers do not handle glitches well. When the Futaba receiver glitches, the servos are jammed full one way or the other.

The downside of the Corona's is poor servo resolution. This really shows up around neutral centering. I have found it not a problem on some models, but on others it is very annoying. You have to test.


Cliff
SOME coronas out perform futaba RX's but the qaulity control is not so good on them. Sherrer did a test a few years ago andthe one he tested was very good. However, do a search for corona and you will see many posts about range issues. I use them myself and they are hit or miss, sometimes you get a good one, sometimes you get a bad one. Futaba's are not this way, the QC is good and generally speaking, you always get a good one. Corona's are a gamble, in my experience.

As far as the full deflection on futaba rx's, I've never had this happen to me. They glitch like any other RX I have used (twitches in control surfaces, slow response to inputs). I think you are talking about an improperly setup failsafe.
Nov 27, 2011, 03:23 PM
Suspended Account
I fly a dopey sailplane with rage gyros dialed up to 30% so it's not the most precise aircraft in the world haha
Nov 27, 2011, 03:24 PM
Registered User
cliffkot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gundamnitpete
SOME coronas out perform futaba RX's but the qaulity control is not so good on them. Sherrer did a test a few years ago andthe one he tested was very good. However, do a search for corona and you will see many posts about range issues. I use them myself and they are hit or miss, sometimes you get a good one, sometimes you get a bad one. Futaba's are not this way, the QC is good and generally speaking, you always get a good one. Corona's are a gamble, in my experience.

As far as the full deflection on futaba rx's, I've never had this happen to me. They glitch like any other RX I have used (twitches in control surfaces, slow response to inputs). I think you are talking about an improperly setup failsafe.
No, none of the Futaba FM receivers have a failsafe.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale usb cable for futaba/hitec pin (round 6 pins) jaas75 Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 0 Sep 05, 2008 01:34 AM
Pots for Futaba conquest transmitter hcastell Electric Plane Talk 2 Sep 12, 2001 09:14 AM
Make your own DIN plug for Futaba TX! pullin-gs Electric Plane Talk 0 Sep 06, 2001 09:05 PM
WTB: Hitec 555 rx for Futaba ( Slope Nut Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jul 28, 2001 09:54 PM
Programming manual for Futaba 7UAF gwh Electric Plane Talk 3 May 31, 2001 01:43 AM