New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Sep 08, 2012, 03:24 PM
Maximilionalpha is offline
Find More Posts by Maximilionalpha
Closed Account
The age of the Radian, has nothing to do with the snugness of the wings, it's all in the design of the fuselage, itself. Anyone who's gone through more than one fuselage can tell you that the wings have a different snugness(or, lack thereof), when sliding them into the fuse. I'm not talking about the wing spar either. I also read in one of these posts, where someone mentioned that the holes underneath the Radians wings that line up with the wing spar, where for attaching bungee chords, or some other type of device to keep the wings together....well, sorry to say, but that's not the purpose of those holes. They are there to allow the release of air pressure build up, in the spar tube, when sliding in the wing spar. If you don't believe that, just tape over those holes and let us know how easy it is to put that spar in. I've attached two neodymium magnets to the connecting ends of my Radians wings towards the trailing edges to help secure the wings in place during high speed dives and tight turns. I have photos up, if you would like to take a look at them.

Happy Flying!
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 08, 2012, 03:32 PM
Alex62k is offline
Find More Posts by Alex62k
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greywing View Post
... What was the rating of the unit that fried? Are you using a stock propeller?
I did not change any equipment from stock (PNP version) so far, including prop.
Old Sep 08, 2012, 03:37 PM
Jovanx is offline
Find More Posts by Jovanx
Tossing planes into the snow
I only put that bungee cord in there for a joke, just long enough to take the picture. It is actually a cord cut in half, and if you looked from the bottom you would just see 2 frayed ends sticking out of the holes. The Radian Pro does not have those holes, so there should be no problem getting the spar in if they are taped over.

The wear and tear and compression that builds up where the wings join and in the fuselage cutout can be reduced by doing 2 things. Replace the rod with a stiffer CF rod, reducing the flex, and by using velcro, magnets, or tape to hold the wings together.
Old Sep 08, 2012, 04:29 PM
Greywing is offline
Find More Posts by Greywing
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alex62k View Post
I did not change any equipment from stock (PNP version) so far, including prop.
The stock ESC is rated at 30A so the Turnigy 30A should be a good replacement. It's difficult to know why your ESC burned except that electronics sometimes fails. From the look of it, the MOSFETs on one of the three phases shorted and burned.
Old Sep 08, 2012, 06:09 PM
cliffkot is offline
Find More Posts by cliffkot
Registered User
cliffkot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil alvirez View Post
as am new to the rad, i have this question to all of you guys who have been using it for some time:
how do you know how long you can stay up there without risking loosing signal due to an exhausted battery?

If you set your ESC for a 3.3volt per cell cutoff, you will know it is time to come home when your motor won't run. Since the plane glides forever so you won't have any problem dead sticking it in.

I typically get 60 to 90 minute flights with a 1300mah battery, depending on the quality of the thermals and my luck in finding them.

Cliff
Old Sep 09, 2012, 12:31 AM
Maximilionalpha is offline
Find More Posts by Maximilionalpha
Closed Account
here's a pic of my wing magnets...

Trying To Get Up Into The Passing Clouds (11 min 16 sec)
Last edited by Maximilionalpha; Sep 09, 2012 at 01:25 AM.
Old Sep 09, 2012, 01:58 AM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User

good input


Quote:
Originally Posted by cliffkot View Post
If you set your ESC for a 3.3volt per cell cutoff, you will know it is time to come home when your motor won't run. Since the plane glides forever so you won't have any problem dead sticking it in.

I typically get 60 to 90 minute flights with a 1300mah battery, depending on the quality of the thermals and my luck in finding them.

Cliff
thank you for the advice. the 3.3 figure makes lots of sense.
thanks again.
Old Sep 09, 2012, 08:31 PM
scottdearinger is offline
Find More Posts by scottdearinger
Gravity? No, the Earth sucks
scottdearinger's Avatar
editing a video of a fun flight- Eckace actually bonked into a cell tower at about 250 ft and recovered- but lost a camera- we actually found it later in a jungle and it still works perfectly- should be an amusing video
Old Sep 09, 2012, 10:07 PM
eckace1 is offline
Find More Posts by eckace1
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Quote:
Originally Posted by scottdearinger View Post
editing a video of a fun flight- Eckace actually bonked into a cell tower at about 250 ft and recovered- but lost a camera- we actually found it later in a jungle and it still works perfectly- should be an amusing video
I can't wait to see our vid and I'm sure your editing will be great.

Thanks to Scott i don't have to order another hk wing cam and sd card as he found it on the second try .
Old Sep 09, 2012, 10:35 PM
Maximilionalpha is offline
Find More Posts by Maximilionalpha
Closed Account
Well, after a few weeks, I finally went back out to the flying field with both, my Radian, as well as my Phoenix 2000.
Old Sep 09, 2012, 11:34 PM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User

replacement motor


will appreciate if some1 could provide link for a replacement motor for the rad, similar to the original.
preferably from hk. specs, like diam/weight/watts/amps/whatever.

am looking for something like it, as the original motor works fine with the rad, and am working on a plane of similar performance.
thanks
Old Sep 09, 2012, 11:41 PM
Maximilionalpha is offline
Find More Posts by Maximilionalpha
Closed Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by phil alvirez View Post
will appreciate if some1 could provide link for a replacement motor for the rad, similar to the original.
preferably from hk. specs, like diam/weight/watts/amps/whatever.

am looking for something like it, as the original motor works fine with the rad, and am working on a plane of similar performance.
thanks
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ner_Motor.html
Old Sep 09, 2012, 11:49 PM
Maximilionalpha is offline
Find More Posts by Maximilionalpha
Closed Account
Parkzone Radian in high winds (8 min 51 sec)
Old Sep 09, 2012, 11:56 PM
phil alvirez is offline
Find More Posts by phil alvirez
Registered User

seems like the right 1


Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximilionalpha View Post
thank you very much. seems very close.
have you used it?
any more input?
thanks again.
Old Sep 09, 2012, 11:59 PM
eckace1 is offline
Find More Posts by eckace1
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maximilionalpha View Post
What was the wind speed I couldn't tell from the vid.