Parkzone Radian. - Page 869 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Aug 18, 2012, 01:52 PM
Not a newbie anymore..
skyhawk newbie's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Foamaholic
Looked like you has some spectators.
I did.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 18, 2012, 03:32 PM
Registered User
Hey guys, Ive just gotten myself a Radian pro. I am looking for some insight on some good setups/ mixes
Any quick links or should i just start 900 pgs back and have read lol
Aug 18, 2012, 03:43 PM
Flying Full Size & Fun Size :)
jgalexander's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliott000
Hey guys, Ive just gotten myself a Radian pro. I am looking for some insight on some good setups/ mixes
Any quick links or should i just start 900 pgs back and have read lol
Hi Elliott,
You might want to track down the Radian Pro thread - this thread is focused on the R/E Radian.
Best,
Josh
Aug 18, 2012, 04:18 PM
Tossing planes into the snow
Quote:
Originally Posted by elliott000
Hey guys, Ive just gotten myself a Radian pro. I am looking for some insight on some good setups/ mixes
Any quick links or should i just start 900 pgs back and have read lol
Here is a link to the Radian Pro thread:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...+spar&page=682
There are a couple of other ones but that is the busiest one.
Aug 18, 2012, 06:31 PM
Registered User
thanks guys
Aug 18, 2012, 09:06 PM
Registered User
Hey guys, I just got a Frsky module and rx and I'm having a hard time finding a way to fit the D8R-II plus rx in the Radian. Not a fan of Spektrum, but I sure like the size and configuration of their receivers. I'm sure others are using Frsky in their Radians. Anyone care to share how you installed the RX? Thanks.
Aug 20, 2012, 04:44 AM
Registered User
Gimmer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calla969
Hey guys, I just got a Frsky module and rx and I'm having a hard time finding a way to fit the D8R-II plus rx in the Radian. Not a fan of Spektrum, but I sure like the size and configuration of their receivers. I'm sure others are using Frsky in their Radians. Anyone care to share how you installed the RX? Thanks.
I have a 6channel jammed in mine. Have a friend you has an 8channel. He grabbed a knife and strated cutting.
Aug 20, 2012, 07:56 AM
Closed Account
...
Last edited by Radio.Active; Jun 13, 2013 at 08:28 PM.
Aug 20, 2012, 06:43 PM
Registered User

Non HH replacement motor


Hi
I was wondering if there was a non-Parkzone motor (i.e. less expensive) that fits easily in the Radian/ Also are there any tricks to replacing the prop blades on the folding prop? Do you need to secure the screws with thread locker or glue?
Thanks,
Ray
Aug 20, 2012, 07:00 PM
OFF TOPIC POSTER
Quote:
Originally Posted by kostuk
Hi
I was wondering if there was a non-Parkzone motor (i.e. less expensive) that fits easily in the Radian/ Also are there any tricks to replacing the prop blades on the folding prop? Do you need to secure the screws with thread locker or glue?
Thanks,
Ray
There are no screws for the blades themselves only metal sleves.
You only need to use loktite on the grub screw as mine came off in flight but landed ok.
Aug 20, 2012, 08:18 PM
Closed Account
...
Last edited by Radio.Active; Jun 13, 2013 at 08:28 PM.
Aug 20, 2012, 10:06 PM
Radian, Polaris, Mistaken ID.
Baseman's Avatar

I did it


OK I did it...
Broke the nose on my original Radian again... Although I glued it at the field and tossed it back in the air, I could not morally repair it many more times, So i had a new fuze I ordered some time ago. ( I new the day was coming )
I went ahead and did all the Paul Naton Mods. Plus a few of my own..
On my original, the pushrods were the first to come loose, and came loose several times. So this time I pulled them both together with a carefully fed zip tie.
The CF Tow really stiffened the fuse, but the vert stab had alot of flex. I fed a 5mm sharpened cf strip down through the Stabilizer all the way to the center of the fuse. Pulled it back out, cut it to length, and coated it with a little epoxy fed it back in. really stiffend the vertical stabilizer.
Added DuBro hinges to the rudder.
Completed with a new stock nose cone.
But i figured since I have it apart, I went ahead and cut in some ailerons... Mostly so I can use them as spoilers... Will report on how she flies upon completion of Aileron mods!
Aug 21, 2012, 08:58 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by kostuk
Hi
I was wondering if there was a non-Parkzone motor (i.e. less expensive) that fits easily in the Radian/ Also are there any tricks to replacing the prop blades on the folding prop? Do you need to secure the screws with thread locker or glue?
Thanks,
Ray
I use this motor from Hobby King:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dproduct=17919

I mount it directly to the cooling slots in the firewall, without the aluminum X-mount that comes with it. For a better fit use the aluminum mount from eBay that Radio.Active link you to.

The stock propeller and hub have no screws holding the prop. If you upgrade to the aluminum hub and Graupner prop there are bolts that hold the prop, and those should receive some blue LocTite.
Aug 22, 2012, 03:22 AM
Radian, Polaris, Mistaken ID.
Baseman's Avatar
ok, I got it up in the air for a few flights. I am happy to report that I am VERY happy with the way this thing glides now. All the pourposing tendancies are GONE! I mixed in the ailerons to work as spoilers and as flaps. Both of those were great.
All the Paul Naton mods work as intended. This thing flies more like a real glider. It definately does not feel like the Radian I once had, but It glides like never before!
Howerver, I was not happy with the ailerons. I new it was a crap shoot because they are so close to the fuse. I even mixed ailerons with opposing rudder, and was not happy with the results at all. When I fly it with just rudder like she was intended for, it was great.
So, I will be using the ails as flaps and spoilers only.
Overall.... Very Smooth!
Aug 22, 2012, 07:34 AM
Closed Account
...
Last edited by Radio.Active; Jun 13, 2013 at 08:28 PM.