New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jun 26, 2009, 11:21 AM
yellowcolorado is offline
Find More Posts by yellowcolorado
Registered User
No its the Dx5. What exactly does that blinking light mean on the reciever?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 26, 2009, 11:37 AM
KC is offline
KC
Find More Posts by KC
KC
Registered Loiterer.
KC's Avatar
"Spektrum receiver blinking LED - what it means."

KC
Old Jun 26, 2009, 04:01 PM
Fly2High is offline
Find More Posts by Fly2High
Chuck 'Em and Chase 'Em
Fly2High's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hostage-46
Tape the wings? I don't bother, just fly it, I have 100's of flights no biggie
We had a guy in our club have the wings separate in flight and never got back one of them just this week.

Definitely tape them or get some magnets at the Big Box store or maybe even Radio Shack. I think they has some small rare earth magnets.

In a post, someone said Ace does have rare earth but the one by mdidn't. Never know so check your local Ace.
Old Jun 26, 2009, 06:21 PM
Diggs is offline
Find More Posts by Diggs
Not your average DiggsyBear
Diggs's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hostage-46
Tape the wings? I don't bother, just fly it, I have 100's of flights no biggie
I had maybe 20 on mine and the wings came off and it was destroyed. Yours might be fine, but you never know how someone elses will be. Tape or magnets are very cheap insurance.

Diggs
Old Jun 26, 2009, 07:48 PM
JimL is online now
Find More Posts by JimL
Registered User
JimL's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigstatik
I need to ask something, if I get bored when flying a my HZ super cub, and I like to really buzz around good with my T-28 and do high speed low altitude passes and inverted flight, etc would I be totally bored with a radian?
Hi,
I too have a HZ SuperCub, and a T-28, and this year got a Radian. I take all 3 with me. I added floats to the SuperCub and like flying that. The T-28 is fun and I do a lot of aerobatic maneuvers with it.
Then later in the morning I like to relax and fly the Radian. I've had it up for over an hour a few times. It's great just to glide around and look for thermals, flying with soaring hawks and white pelicans. I do not get bored with the radian after flying the T-28. I have not had any problems with the stock prop cracking that some have had.
Last edited by JimL; Jun 26, 2009 at 08:01 PM.
Old Jun 26, 2009, 09:09 PM
Hostage-46 is offline
Find More Posts by Hostage-46
Hit my smoke....
Hostage-46's Avatar

Um what?


Quote:
Originally Posted by Diggs
I had maybe 20 on mine and the wings came off and it was destroyed. Yours might be fine, but you never know how someone elses will be. Tape or magnets are very cheap insurance.

Diggs

We talking wings or stabs? How in the world could the wings come off? The spar holds it all together.

I use magnets for the stabs, wings are just there, no tape, never had it, never will ..
Old Jun 26, 2009, 09:12 PM
Diggs is offline
Find More Posts by Diggs
Not your average DiggsyBear
Diggs's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hostage-46
We talking wings or stabs? How in the world could the wings come off? The spar holds it all together.

I use magnets for the stabs, wings are just there, no tape, never had it, never will ..
Look back a few pages and you will see pics of the remains. It was the wings not the stab. The stab held the fuse nice and vertical all the way to the ground. For under $5 you can do the magnet mod. For me that is great insurance. Won't fly another radian without something extra holding the wings. All I was doing was a climb to altitude when the wings let go. So yes, it can happen.

Diggs

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/atta...mentid=2581856

There is the pic of the remains.. See the one wing I found was still in good condition, with the spar.
Old Jun 26, 2009, 11:10 PM
Hostage-46 is offline
Find More Posts by Hostage-46
Hit my smoke....
Hostage-46's Avatar
OK, a picture is worth a 1000 words....

I just cant' see how that happened? I'm just trying to understand the forces required to slide the wing out

Just wiggled out on the climb? I've never seen that failure
Old Jun 27, 2009, 04:02 PM
rcminh is offline
Find More Posts by rcminh
Registered User
Here are some pictures of my Radian








Old Jun 27, 2009, 04:13 PM
bigstatik is offline
Find More Posts by bigstatik
T-28 abuser
bigstatik's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcminh
Here are some pictures of my Radian









ooh looks nice. thats monocote? hmm maybe I should throw some on the cub or t-28.
Old Jun 27, 2009, 04:35 PM
AeroRecon is offline
Find More Posts by AeroRecon
Work....fly, repeat...
AeroRecon's Avatar

Sony Webbie Mounted on Radian


Hey Guys,
Here is what I have been using lately for aerial videos/stills. Really a slick little camera. The view rotates once past a certain point to mounts to the top or bottom of wing. Very versatile. A servo mounts with hot glue or velcro to trip either shutter button. RangeVideo Tx velcros to other wing top.
Old Jun 29, 2009, 12:05 PM
sylifis is offline
Find More Posts by sylifis
Registered User
sylifis's Avatar
[QUOTE=AeroRecon]Hey Guys,
Here is what I have been using lately for aerial videos/stills. Really a slick little camera.

Have you taken some video you can share with us?
Old Jun 29, 2009, 01:21 PM
donaldrtaylor is offline
Find More Posts by donaldrtaylor
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroRecon
Hey Guys,
Here is what I have been using lately for aerial videos/stills. Really a slick little camera. The view rotates once past a certain point to mounts to the top or bottom of wing. Very versatile. A servo mounts with hot glue or velcro to trip either shutter button. RangeVideo Tx velcros to other wing top.
I like your camara set up on the radian. Mine was ackward and did not work that well. but I got some good video with it which I have posted
Old Jun 29, 2009, 01:36 PM
AeroRecon is offline
Find More Posts by AeroRecon
Work....fly, repeat...
AeroRecon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AeroRecon
Hey Guys,
Here is what I have been using lately for aerial videos/stills. Really a slick little camera.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sylifis
Have you taken some video you can share with us?
No. I usually just cut stills out for the video. I have an XP laptop and have not been able to get the HD video edited yet. WMM cuts it up fine but won't save the files. It starts and then just dies with no warnings or anything. I bought Sony Vegas but the playback while editing is about 2 frames per second. No good for trying to cut up the long videos.

I have that Sony Webbie, a Sanyo Exacti HD100 and a Jazz178 and have not been able to edit and save any video from them. Really stinks. And my Vista box at home won't open the files. I will keep trying, though. Sorry.
Old Jun 29, 2009, 06:32 PM
Mike 52732 is offline
Find More Posts by Mike 52732
Registered User
Mike 52732's Avatar
Well the Radian bit the dust today. Crashed from about 200 feet. Didn't have any elevator. Don't know if the connector came loose from the control cable or what. It hit hard and broke the nose in two pieces and the tail off. It will glue back together but not for a day or two. Great thermaling today. What a great plane

Mike


Thread Tools