Thread Tools
Old Aug 18, 2008, 09:35 PM
tuey1234 is offline
Find More Posts by tuey1234
Registered User
Help!

Spektrum DX7 Back up error


Does anyone know about this problem and has solved it?
When I turn on my radio, all it says is just that: "Back up error".

Please help if you can.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 18, 2008, 09:51 PM
mongo is offline
Find More Posts by mongo
Registered User
mongo's Avatar
short answer: send it in for service
Old Aug 19, 2008, 06:39 AM
Julez is offline
Find More Posts by Julez
Proud to eat Kraut ;-)
Julez's Avatar
Dit you by chance leave it accidentally on, until the battery was totally drained? This can be the cause of the error.
Old Jan 19, 2010, 02:09 PM
Flying Fast is offline
Find More Posts by Flying Fast
Fly it fast!
Flying Fast's Avatar
I just got the same "backup error" on my DX7 yesterday. I hope Horizon Hobby is good about replacing a defective DX7.

I just got this radio in August!
Old Jan 19, 2010, 03:18 PM
Daedalus66 is online now
Find More Posts by Daedalus66
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flying Fast View Post
I just got the same "backup error" on my DX7 yesterday. I hope Horizon Hobby is good about replacing a defective DX7.

I just got this radio in August!
Not necessarily defective. Could be you let the battery run down completely and it was dead for a significant time. Or the battery got disconnected for a while. I don't know how long it will go without a battery before it loses its mind, but certainly there's no problem for a few minutes or maybe hours.

Horizon are very good about these things generally.
Old Jan 19, 2010, 03:27 PM
peso is offline
Find More Posts by peso
Registered User
So if you forget it on you have to send it in? Canīt believe it is designed that way.
Old Jan 19, 2010, 03:53 PM
Flying Fast is offline
Find More Posts by Flying Fast
Fly it fast!
Flying Fast's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by peso View Post
So if you forget it on you have to send it in? Canīt believe it is designed that way.
I'll take Spektrum over Futaba any day, but i have to say, i've NEVER had ANY issues with my 2.4 Futaba radio's.

I just wish they would "work out the bugs" on these radio's.
Old Jan 19, 2010, 03:57 PM
theaton56 is offline
Find More Posts by theaton56
Registered User
It's because the backup lithium was removed on the later generation transmitters. The lithium kept a constant 3V to the processor and would therefore always boot up correctly.

If the main battery is low or power is interrupted when booting up, this can cause the voltage to fall below critical level and corrupt the processor.

JR was only responding to what people wanted.
Old Jan 19, 2010, 04:15 PM
Daedalus66 is online now
Find More Posts by Daedalus66
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac_man View Post
If the main battery is low or power is interrupted when booting up, this can cause the voltage to fall below critical level and corrupt the processor.
I've never had a problem leaving the transmitter on overnight, though I guess it didn't get down to 3v. Nor a problem switching batteries. How long is the Tx good for with no battery connected?
Last edited by Daedalus66; Jan 20, 2010 at 05:30 AM.
Old Jan 19, 2010, 04:25 PM
peso is offline
Find More Posts by peso
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by mac_man View Post
It's because the backup lithium was removed on the later generation transmitters. The lithium kept a constant 3V to the processor and would therefore always boot up correctly.

If the main battery is low or power is interrupted when booting up, this can cause the voltage to fall below critical level and corrupt the processor.

JR was only responding to what people wanted.
There are other solutions. Futaba never had this problem. My mobile phone or my laptop does not either. I still canīt believe it is designed with this fault. But if so why no warning in the manual.
Old Jan 19, 2010, 08:25 PM
tkallev is offline
Find More Posts by tkallev
LSF303-AMA Fellow
tkallev's Avatar
I've seen a couple of folks that had this problem and in both cases, the Tx was switched on while on charge ... A common practice for some but not wise.

YMMV

tk
Old Jan 20, 2010, 10:16 AM
trondb is offline
Find More Posts by trondb
Registered User
trondb's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by peso View Post
There are other solutions. Futaba never had this problem. My mobile phone or my laptop does not either. I still canīt believe it is designed with this fault. But if so why no warning in the manual.
My first DX 7 died due to this issue and got it replaced with a new , thats fine but it should be warned in the manual or whatever that this CAN happen if the battery runs out, turned on while charging etc.. To easy to just ignore to tell us customers what cause it an therefore possibly avoid it to happen ?
Old Jan 20, 2010, 04:49 PM
onewasp is offline
Find More Posts by onewasp
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by peso View Post
There are other solutions. Futaba never had this problem. My mobile phone or my laptop does not either. I still canīt believe it is designed with this fault. But if so why no warning in the manual.
Perhaps from the standpoint of a percentage of users having the problem it is too tiny to consider as a "problem".
Your use of "faullt" appears to be because you screwed up and do not wish to accept the blame.

As others have said Horizon is VERY good at helping their customers out of self imposed troubles.
The DX7 has been sold and used by untold numbers (including me) since late October 2006.
Draw you own conclusions.
Last edited by onewasp; Jan 20, 2010 at 05:36 PM.
Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:20 PM
peso is offline
Find More Posts by peso
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by onewasp View Post
Perhaps from the standpoint of a percentage of users having the problem it is too tiny to consider as a "problem".
Your use of "faullt" appears to be because you screwed up and do not wish to accept the blame.

As others have said Horizon is VERY good at helping their customers out of self imposed troubles.
The DX7 has been sold and used by untold numbers (including me) since late October 2006.
Draw you own conclusions.
It definitely is not up to normal engineering standard for this type of battery powered equipment. Would you accept to have to send a mobile phone for repair if you had forgotten to charge it in time. But as I wrote I do not think it is designed with this fault. Possibly it happens under very specific circumstances and it would be interesting to know more about that so it could be avoided.
Anyway it has not happened to me (yet) so I have no reason to blame myself. Possibly for bying Spektrum but it is very nice in many other ways so I am not there.
Old Jan 21, 2010, 12:55 PM
onewasp is offline
Find More Posts by onewasp
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by peso View Post
It definitely is not up to normal engineering standard for this type of battery powered equipment. Would you accept to have to send a mobile phone for repair if you had forgotten to charge it in time. But as I wrote I do not think it is designed with this fault. Possibly it happens under very specific circumstances and it would be interesting to know more about that so it could be avoided.
Anyway it has not happened to me (yet) so I have no reason to blame myself. Possibly for bying Spektrum but it is very nice in many other ways so I am not there.
_____________________________________________

I can thoroughly understand your mind set.

At the risk (a sure thing) of upsetting lots of 'non-Spektrum DSM2' types these sites are filled with more half truths and misunderstandings than they are with real help and understanding. Seems to become more profound each day.
'Tis but the nature of an open forum on the web.
Some will always resent the fact that a new brand Spektrum, lead the way to full range 2.4GHz. SS.

I predict that you will thoroughly enjoy the DX7. A standard radio set up 2.4GHz SS, is not !

A very few new rules to follow (for ALL of them) and you will wish you had changed earlier.
Treat it as if it were a 27, 35, 40, 50, 72 etc. MHz radio and you will be bitten a few times. That goes for each and every brand available.
Look for and follow the new procedures and your experience will be a superlative.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion VPP Set up with Spektrum DX7 Chris Corbett Parkflyers 0 Jul 21, 2007 02:04 PM
Rant "back up error" beeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeep!!! THUREN Slope 26 Oct 03, 2006 10:49 AM
Napster is back up.........Free MUSIC funflyer Life, The Universe, and Politics 5 Sep 09, 2001 01:51 AM
Well looks like it's back up..... Ed Waldrep Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 2 Sep 05, 2001 02:36 PM
Zagi Back Up! jimmyray Foamies (Kits) 1 Jun 24, 2001 03:13 AM