Jul 30, 2008, 06:55 PM
Closed Account
Discussion

Powerline Hobbies FOKKER DR1 in Red

Hey Fokker fans, I recieved my Powerline Hobbies Fokker DR1 in red today . I know what your thinking "not another red dr1" but I like it.
The model came near perfect except for a small crack in the cowl. I will contact PLH and see if I can get another one but mean while it is repairable.

I'm no expert but here some thoughts. First impression was how light the box was. This Plane is built extremely light. The covering job is good and mostly wrinkle free. As I thought by looking at the pict on PLH site the tail skid is attached to the rudder, but what I know now there is also wheels attached to the skid. Not scale but I don't mind as I'm not a rivet counter and for ground handling it will be nice. H9 has something similar on their D7, without wheels.
The top section of the fuse is ABS (I think) as is the cowl. The cowl is a bit flimsy but again everything is light. The gear struts and struts near the cockpit are aluminum. The cabanes are covered balsa.
As with the PLH camel this has a pull, pull rudder & elevator.
I have shown the included instruction CD in some of the photos to give a sense size.
I will weather this model and dull the finish. I may consider painting the cowl white......

I won't rush this build.
I don't wanna Fokker it up and turn it into a Messerschmitt.

Yeah I know, but I waited a long time to use that line.

Smooth air to all
to remove ads between posts
Jul 31, 2008, 02:21 PM
Closed Account
I ordered a motor, speed control & lipos from hobby city today.
I choose a Turnigy 42-40B 900kv out runner,
a Turnigy plush 40amp ESC,
& a couple Zippy 3s 2200mah 20c lipos.

Weighed the model contents in there plastic bags and it added up to about 2 lbs (without motor, ESC, servos, battery). So I'm guessing it will be quite possible to end up around the 3.3 lbs as per PLH website.
Jul 31, 2008, 02:49 PM
Chesapeake Bay RC Club