Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by JimDrew, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old Jan 30, 2009, 02:56 AM
flarssen is offline
Find More Posts by flarssen
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jh2rc97
Fred,
The CC-BEC is a switching BEC.
Alan
Alan,
I know now, but Jim sure made it sound like a linear one. Actually I thought he was typing CC-BEC, meaning CC-ESC/BEC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew
Check Castle's website. There is a fine print warning about using more than 12v with their 10A BEC.
Maybe you could supply a link? The only warning I could find was this one:
"Please refrain from tasting the yummy goodness of the CC BEC. Castle Creations is not responsible for any cases of upset stomach, indigestion, or other GI malfunctions as a result of CC BEC consumption. Eating a CC BEC is known to cause cancer in the state of California."
(http://www.castlecreations.com/suppo...faq-ccbec.html)

I think most voltage drop issues with BEC's are related to thin wiring and the connectors. Moving up in output voltage helps since it allows more voltage drop before the Rx reboots.

Fred
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 30, 2009, 09:20 AM
jh2rc97 is offline
Find More Posts by jh2rc97
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew
Look around on the forums. This issue has been discussed for months. We did testing ourselves and the higher the input voltage, the lower amperage output UNLESS you program the output voltage to be higher than the default 5.1v. The BEC is completely unusable with our system on a 4S Lipo in the Hobby Lobby F-5 jet (5 micro servos) when using 5.1v output. Setting the output to 5.7v or higher allows enough current to drive the servos. We tried 4 different Castle BECs, all with the same results.

There is a memo about this on Castle's website, where they specifically state a reduced output current when using more than 12v of input voltage.
Sounds like the inductor needs to be alittle larger. I am assuming that it is a standard buck type converter.
Old Mar 06, 2009, 08:23 PM
hypnosismax is offline
Find More Posts by hypnosismax
Registered User
Hello,

I bought an xtreme 8ch RX receiver and module system for JR radios

Product ID: XPS-CPJ1-8
Product Name: 2.4Ghz JR combo pack w/8 channel receiver

This was in April of last year. Well, I am just getting ready to install it in a gas plane and went looking for the manual on extremeís web site when I see that there is a firmware update. Is this something that needs to be done or does it just add some bells and whistles?

I donít want the plane to fall out of the sky, but I donít want to pay $39 dollar for something that isnít needed.

Thanks for your time
Max
Old Mar 07, 2009, 09:11 AM
JuanRodriguez is offline
Find More Posts by JuanRodriguez
Registered User
Max,

A quick search of the forum netted this:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...irmware+needed




Quote:
Originally Posted by hypnosismax
Hello,

I bought an xtreme 8ch RX receiver and module system for JR radios

Product ID: XPS-CPJ1-8
Product Name: 2.4Ghz JR combo pack w/8 channel receiver

This was in April of last year. Well, I am just getting ready to install it in a gas plane and went looking for the manual on extremeís web site when I see that there is a firmware update. Is this something that needs to be done or does it just add some bells and whistles?

I donít want the plane to fall out of the sky, but I donít want to pay $39 dollar for something that isnít needed.

Thanks for your time
Max
Old Apr 11, 2009, 04:38 PM
tashley is offline
Find More Posts by tashley
Aerial Images of Texas
tashley's Avatar
Ok, so smite me if some of y'all feel I haven't done the proper research but here's the deal. I purchased a system for my JR 9303 over a year ago along with a device programmer and for reasons I won't get into I'm just getting around to installing the system in my Extreme Flight 88" Yak. In a nutshell what do I need to take care of both hardware and software wise to bring my system totally up to date and working it's best.
Thanks in advance for the help.
Old Apr 11, 2009, 05:47 PM
JuanRodriguez is offline
Find More Posts by JuanRodriguez
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by tashley
Ok, so smite me if some of y'all feel I haven't done the proper research but here's the deal. I purchased a system for my JR 9303 over a year ago along with a device programmer and for reasons I won't get into I'm just getting around to installing the system in my Extreme Flight 88" Yak. In a nutshell what do I need to take care of both hardware and software wise to bring my system totally up to date and working it's best.
Thanks in advance for the help.
I would say, send your equipment back to XPS for the latest system upgrade and then upgrade your power system to the A123 batteries to ensure adequate power to run everything....

Simple as that !!
Old Apr 12, 2009, 09:40 AM
twang is offline
Find More Posts by twang
Registered User
twang's Avatar
Check the new Beta software updater too see if you can update without returning to XPS. There is a thread here somewhere about the update.

And... as Juan says, make sure you power system is up to the task. It is my belief that most 2.4 issues, regardless of brand, are caused by power problems based around "it worked fine on my xxMhz gear for years why shouldn't it work now".
Old Apr 12, 2009, 11:50 AM
village_idiot is offline
Find More Posts by village_idiot
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
The thread says you MUST be at V3.x to be able to use the firmware updater because there are some changes made to parts that the updater does not have access to. If you are at version 1.x or 2.x you must still return them for an update!
Old Apr 12, 2009, 06:39 PM
JimDrew is offline
Find More Posts by JimDrew
Xtreme Power Systems
I think there is confusion here. We do not offer any updates other than the v3.0 update. The "updater" we just released only works with v3.0 and later - currently. We may be releasing a version for 1.x/2.x as well. In ALL cases, to upgrade to v3.0 you have to purchase the upgrade and send all of your items in to be upgraded by us.
RCG Plus Member
Old Apr 14, 2009, 04:22 PM
CyberPilot is offline
Find More Posts by CyberPilot
I'm a feather on the wind
CyberPilot's Avatar
Jim,

If I purchase an RF module & some receivers from you today, will they come with the latest firmware already installed? If so, will that always be the case?

Thanks,
Dave
Old May 15, 2009, 06:00 AM
Smurphy_ is offline
Find More Posts by Smurphy_
Registered User
Smurphy_'s Avatar
As I just received all my 2.4GHz equipment - receiver/transmitter and programmer interface - I was wondering where to get the latest firmware for the receiver/transmitter. My receiver actually has IFS v3.3, while the transmitter has IFS V3.2 - and I usually try to keep the software at the same release level if I can.

An link/place I could download it ?
I do have the XPS-XM 2.4GHz Graupner Tray Radio Transmitter Module for the mc19

Thx for any hint.

Disregard this request please. In germany - we have an expression: "Lesen bildet" - in other words - "readings makes you smarter".
I did reread all documentation again and noticed it's already with the updater software. I first thought it was to be done through th XPS software - as it proposes the Firmware Upgrade feature.
Last edited by Smurphy_; May 15, 2009 at 06:35 AM.
Old May 15, 2009, 07:37 AM
tashley is offline
Find More Posts by tashley
Aerial Images of Texas
tashley's Avatar
LOL,that's funny Smurphy, in the good old USA we have a similar one R.T.F.I..
Old May 25, 2009, 03:47 AM
Smurphy_ is offline
Find More Posts by Smurphy_
Registered User
Smurphy_'s Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tashley
LOL,that's funny Smurphy, in the good old USA we have a similar one R.T.F.I..
Oh - coming from the computer world - I though it was: R.T.F.M while it is left to the readers discretion to interprete the "F" here
Old May 25, 2009, 10:06 PM
tashley is offline
Find More Posts by tashley
Aerial Images of Texas
tashley's Avatar
Roflmfao :d
Old Jun 24, 2009, 03:22 AM
xeqouz is offline
Find More Posts by xeqouz
Registered User
Someone please guide me..

I'd placed an order for the firmware upgrade. Immediately, I've received an email with subject "Thank you for your order". Inside includes the order details and order id.

My question is, is that the order that I should print out and send to XPS together with my tx modules & rx? Or I should be receiving another email that contains my order?

Thanks & Regards


Thread Tools