Upgrade Software and Firmware - Page 23 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by JimDrew, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Oct 10, 2011, 11:40 AM
We put a new receiver in your old case. It is extremely rare that we actually "fix" something. Something like bent pins or a simple broken case we can fix without much concern. However, when there is some odd thing that is happening, we just replace the electronics. As modelers ourselves we know that the last thing you want in the back of your mind is "did they really fix the problem?"
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Oct 17, 2011, 07:09 PM

New beta


I put up a new updater (3.0) that adds the PPM data stream output for the Nanos as well as fixes the odd failsafe issue we had if you used the 'OFF' setting (all receivers).

The selection of PWM (normal servo outputs) or PPM (data stream common with transmitters, flight sims, etc.) is done as the last step in the binding. Only a MASTER can output a PPM data stream.

After the binding has completed, the Nano's LED will turn off. Now, if you put the jumper on the 'B' port, the LED will turn back on and the output mode will then be PPM. To reset the output mode back to PWM mode, just rebind the receiver and don't do the last step, just unplug the the power when the LED turns off.

The channel mapping affects the output of the PPM data stream, so you can change the mapping to move or duplicate channel outputs.

This allows the use of Mikrocopters, 3-axis gyros like Beast-X (in composite PPM mode), and flight simulators. So, you can now use Realflight, Aerofly, Phoenix RC, etc. wirelessly. You just need to make a servo plug --> flight sim interface cable. You can power it with any type of battery.

Channels 1,3,5 output a positive going PPM pulse and channels 2,4,6 output a negative going PPM pulse.
Oct 17, 2011, 10:54 PM
Registered User
Hey Jim,

I don't have a clue what you are talking about but it sounds terrific..

Oct 18, 2011, 03:16 AM
XtremeLink South Africa
mikestark's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graeme Marion
Hey Jim,

I don't have a clue what you are talking about but it sounds terrific..

Thought is was just me that was confused
Oct 18, 2011, 10:39 AM
The Nano now has the ability to output a PPM data stream. This is required for various 3-axis gyros (like the most popular Beast-X), Mikrokopters, and flight simulator interfaces. So, instead of using servo outputs, you use a single connection (on any of the channel outputs) to provide all of the channel data.
Oct 22, 2011, 02:23 PM
Thermals, Tom
RyanNX211's Avatar
Don't know what you're talking about but it sounds pretty good
Oct 22, 2011, 03:20 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by RyanNX211
Don't know what you're talking about but it sounds pretty good
Basically, what the Tx puts into the module is sent out from the receiver. In principle, you can connect the PPM output from the receiver to another module, put it on a high spot and increase the range.
Nov 04, 2011, 05:52 AM
Registered User
Hi, please, do you plan to produce XPS J1 Tx with "in filed flashable" chipset ? ... I wait 2 years, and no change :-(

An another question, can I use sensors from Graupner HOTT ... or EagleTree ... or other sensores? (I have MX-22 and XPS-J1 Tx module).

Thank you very much
Nov 04, 2011, 10:51 AM
We were never guaranteed what to get for CPUs, so we never made infield flashing an official feature. However, about 90% of what we produced has this ability. Nearly 100% of everything produced since 2008 has this ability.

We will be supporting Hitec, Eagletree, and possibly HoTT sensors in the near future.
Dec 31, 2011, 12:05 PM
Registered User

XDP Software Download


Tried twice to download and install "Current XDP software installer". So far - unsuccessfully:

Message:

Unable to execute file: C:\ProgramFiles(x86)\XPS\USB\OS_Detect.exe

CreateProcess failed; code 740
The requested operation requires elevation.

Note: Operating system - Windows 7 Home Premium, Intel i3 CPU, 64 bit Operating System

Need Help.
Last edited by delperena; Dec 31, 2011 at 04:06 PM. Reason: clarification
Dec 31, 2011, 05:38 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Message:

The requested operation requires elevation.
Have you tried to stand on a chair while executing the command ???

Sorry, couldn't help it !

I hope you resolve the issue......
Jan 01, 2012, 01:25 AM
Registered User
Thanks! Tried the ladder but the AOA (angle of attack) was too much - it STALLED!
Jan 01, 2012, 12:32 PM
You must run the installer in administrator mode.
Jan 02, 2012, 12:23 PM
Registered User

Thanks!


Quote:
Originally Posted by JimDrew
You must run the installer in administrator mode.
Jim,

Thanks. It works. Managed to configure a Nano 6 to Channels 7-12 as well as run the RxDiagnostic.
Jan 15, 2012, 11:36 PM
Registered User
Jim,
I am about to send in my parts for the upgrade and I have a couple questions.

Can my original 8 channel receiver be converted to use the sailplane antenna?

Will your firmware ever be Apple compatible?

thanks,

Steve