Jan 23, 2003, 06:08 AM
Thread OP

Li-poly battery to replace 10 cell RC 2400 ?

Is this possible? What would be the weight and cost ? Can a
li-poly tolerate 36 amps ?
Thanks
to remove ads between posts
Jan 23, 2003, 06:24 AM

LiPoCalc

Although I am not an expert i could suggest this link

http://www.fmadirect.com/site/lipocalc.htm

I hope that you'll find it useful

Regards,
Christos
Jan 23, 2003, 08:26 AM
Yes, it's possible. A properly configured LiPoly pack will weigh slightly less than the CP2400, and it will be outrageously expensive. By themselves, even the largest available LiPoly (3270mAh) can't handle more than about 9 Amps continuous, though. You have to combine multiple LiPoly packs in parallel to get the current capacity. This has the added benefit of outrageous duration. The only downside is that the Lipoly pack will take forever to recharge with the chargers we have available.

There have been several discussions on this exact subject. Search for "Kokam Lipoly E3D". Betcha the 10xRC2400 you want to replace with Lipoly is for an E3D. Am I right?

Now, when you go to use Lipocalc, make sure you pay attention to the discharge "C" rate. Use 3C if you're flying full-throttle all the time, and 4C or 5C if you only have short bursts of full throttle. Currently-available LiPoly cells do not deal well with being discharged continuously at rates higher than 3C (3 times their capacity in mAh), but can handle those levels for a few seconds at a time.
Jan 23, 2003, 08:51 AM