Jun 08, 2008, 10:21 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Covering curved surfaces with film

I have covered several curved surfaces with solite with varying degrees of success. I know wingtips (for example) can be covered with perfectly smooth edges and no wrinkles. I'm trying to improve my techniques and results. I'm asking you to share your particular methods in some detail. Pulling/stretching film is where I need help. Let's say I want to cover a wing with one piece of material. I do the main part of one wing surface and now it is wingtip time. Do I pull the film over and tack it to the center and then work each half independently? These sorts of questions. Any advice greatly appreciated.

Thanks, Frank
to remove ads between posts
Jun 08, 2008, 05:02 PM
I'm a pilot, 100 yrs too late
that's how I do it... top and bottom to the centerline running front to back. Have a few extra inches to have someting to pull on. I use an iron until the compound curve starts and then you get another half inch or so to lay flat, then I go to a heat gun and pull down as i go as. Once it's on I go over with the iron... SO-Lite is easier to apply wrinkle free than the other films due to it's "thinness" and takes much less heat.
Mike
Jun 08, 2008, 06:10 PM
Yup. Either little bits, or heat and PULL. I use an iron rather than a gun, but the principle is the same.
Jun 09, 2008, 08:25 AM
I find an iron makes it easier, warm the film, then tug and press round the shape. Careful not to pull too hard though

If you have a couple of small wrinkles, you can almost melt them out with a really hot iron.

I've always struggled doing wings in one piece, so I don't

I do the bottom surface first, then the top, overlapping the LE by about 1/4" so the seam faces "downwind". If you make a nice neat cut, you can't see the overlap.