May 27, 2008, 02:27 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

GWS-SLOWSTICK - need help completing parts order

I've been flying the $30 RC planes in a hangar for a few months now, but I was laid off from the job where I had hangar access. Now I want to start flying larger birds.

I got a Bellanca Decathlon from Hobby-Lobby a month or so ago for $89, and had a few really good flights with it. Then I got ambitious and flew it in a high wind. It crashed. It really wasn't the best plane for a beginner anyway, although it did fly well in calm conditions. I actually landed it four of it's seven flights, and the other three 'landings' weren't bad either, they all just ended with the greasy side up.

So I'm thinking I need something a bit better to fly around. I have a field near me that is too small for the Decathlon, so I'd like a slower plane I can fly in that field. I've got my sights set on two planes, this Slowstick Combo and the
Mountain Models Magpie
(with both wings). I'll be starting off with the Slowstick first.

Here's my thought process:

Start with the above-linked Slowstick, cannibalize the servos and Tx/Rx from my Decathlon, and learn to fly in the smaller field I have easily available.

As I get better, I'll purchase the Magpie kit on the Mountain Models page, and use the electronics from the Slowstick. I've read most of the Magpie threads (going all the way back to 2004) and it seems that the outrunner in the slowstick package should work pretty well in the Magpie.

Eventually replace the 27MHz Tx/Rx with a 2.4 Spektrum DX6i as funding allows.

In the mean time, I need a prop for the SS. They're cheap, so I figure I'll get a few. http://www.gravesrc.com/category_s/167.htm .

I also need a LiPo, and I'm looking for a decent deal on some. I have a few I could 'borrow' in the mean time, but I need one of my own.

Any input to any of this would be greatly appreciated. After all, you guys are the experts!
Last edited by The Raddish; May 27, 2008 at 02:52 PM.