This thread is privately moderated by HyperHelis, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
May 27, 2008, 11:19 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

My work

Remember, just because it doesnt come from a manufacture in bright and shiny aluminum, doesnt mean its not the real deal!
I've been flying for many years now and i've used the same techniques time and time again! Well I don't know about you guys but i've had enough! I finally got tired of my heli flying off into something while trying to test the gyro or even trying to setup the cg on my machine using my fingertips and taking an estimated guess everytime! Not anymore, I need some input on my design from you guys here. I have finally finished them, they have been tested rigorously. I will be posting a video showing the setup of my gyro stand and cg stand. If my manual is followed correctly you will get endless tests out of my stands. I know i've wanted to purchase one of those expensive gyro stands for a long time but I just could'nt afford to put out $100.00-$200.00 on a nice alluminum stand that my heli "might" be able to fit on! Well that was my reason for these stands, I set out to build a worthy and affordable cg & gyro stand. They both come with two coats of polyurethane clear coat. The base of the Cg stand is true and square to the posts so you could easily add a 2 inch level to the base of the Cg stand and square up your mainshaft with the posts. I use nylon bushings and mylar washers to keep the gyro stand from having interfearing friction. I could have machined aluminum with bearings but I believe that would have contradicted the purpose here! Hence the "inexpensive gyro stand"! The base and mast are screwed and epoxied together, so it will not come apart unless you abuse the gyro stand. The bases of both stands come covered with foam rubber, also the deck of the gyro stand is covered in foam rubber. I build these by hand and test everyone with my own machines rigorously. Keep in mind that these are made mainly fo