Thread Tools
Jul 25, 2012, 12:59 PM
Registered User
jeb6684's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by vlocity
Hi All,

Bought one of these from an RC group member. Set up with the power 10 and a suitable esc. All I can say is WOW. By far my favorite plane.

Just tons of fun. 10 flights on her over the weekend.
Glad you like it. I miss my T-28, I'm thinking of getting another one.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jul 25, 2012, 01:07 PM
RC pilots do it in the air
marke14's Avatar
Hey Max, where was that footage taken? It looks great!

Is your canopy super-clean or did you remove it to stuff the GoPro in there?
Jul 25, 2012, 02:51 PM
AIMDROIX
DaxFX's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by marke14
Hey Max,
Is your canopy super-clean or did you remove it to stuff the GoPro in there?
I was thinking the same. Not even
Sumlight glare or reflection. Looks
Awesome. !!!
Jul 25, 2012, 04:26 PM
Registered User
robj's Avatar
Its got to be open, there would be some glare/reflection. At .11 look like some spray on the camera lens. And the canopy would have popped off in the crash, looks like the cowl came off.
Jul 25, 2012, 05:54 PM
I'm NEW
Maxxpain's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaxFX
I was thinking the same. Not even
Sumlight glare or reflection. Looks
Awesome. !!!
Yes, I tore off the wind shield and cut the canopy in half. I did one flight and man, the canopy was scratched bad, the glare was terrible plus it added a dull / low quality effect to the video. Just a mess and the time of day I filmed was super pretty. So ruined the vid. I re-glued the magnet in a new area plus the GoPro is right up against the 1/2 cut Canopy so it won't fly off at all. Then I use a normal canopy for non GoPro flights. .
Jul 26, 2012, 08:43 AM
PA Enthusiast
Willie T's Avatar
I also out in a Power 10 but not wanting to replace the ESC, I just put the throttle curve back to 80% on my DX8. In doing so, it draws 29 amps at WOT. After 6 minutes of aggressive flying, the stock ESC is not even warm. I am turning a 10 X 7 X 3 Master screw prop.
Jul 26, 2012, 12:03 PM
Registered User
beercandan11's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Willie T
I also out in a Power 10 but not wanting to replace the ESC, I just put the throttle curve back to 80% on my DX8. In doing so, it draws 29 amps at WOT. After 6 minutes of aggressive flying, the stock ESC is not even warm. I am turning a 10 X 7 X 3 Master screw prop.
thats a good idea. i sold stock esc for around $30 bought 45 amp one for around same price now i use 100% throttle
Jul 28, 2012, 09:54 AM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Guys,

You can't throttle manage an over amped power system. It's because ESCs use PWM to throttle the power output. The ESC always sees max amps. Go the Castle Creations site and look up the FAQ's. They specifically answer a question regarding adjust end points to lower amps.

Bill
Jul 30, 2012, 05:11 PM
AIMDROIX
DaxFX's Avatar
I thought this day will never came. I damage my very first part on my T. My elevator cracks on the hinges. I have the bad on my side that every flying trip my planes are under direct sun all day i think the covering on the elevator get toasted and cracked all the way were act as a hinge. Wow i have to admit since i started into rc planes back in 2005 this is the very first one that had last more than a year without replacing or modding or repairing any single bit.

New stab ordered. So 1 more year to come.
Jul 30, 2012, 06:19 PM
TEAM HILLBILLY
rdcskkrose's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaxFX
I thought this day will never came. I damage my very first part on my T. My elevator cracks on the hinges. I have the bad on my side that every flying trip my planes are under direct sun all day i think the covering on the elevator get toasted and cracked all the way were act as a hinge. Wow i have to admit since i started into rc planes back in 2005 this is the very first one that had last more than a year without replacing or modding or repairing any single bit.

New stab ordered. So 1 more year to come.
I'd wrap your stab in blenderm and keep going. Save the new one
Jul 30, 2012, 06:29 PM
AIMDROIX
DaxFX's Avatar
Sorry my bad english. What is blenderm?
Jul 30, 2012, 06:54 PM
Registered User
beercandan11's Avatar
Blenderm tape. Tape looks like it has fiber in it
Jul 30, 2012, 07:38 PM
AIMDROIX
DaxFX's Avatar
Oh! Ok.
Jul 30, 2012, 07:48 PM
Foam, foam on the range....
didge's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by beercandan11
Blenderm tape. Tape looks like it has fiber in it
No, that's not Blenderm. Blenderm is this stuff:

http://www.3m.com/product/informatio...ical-Tape.html

Sometimes sold as hinge tape.

Cheers
Last edited by didge; Jul 30, 2012 at 07:49 PM. Reason: Spell "hinge" properly...
Jul 30, 2012, 09:04 PM
Registered User
Guys,

I've torn the rudder from my Navy T-28. Looking online, it seems the way to repair it is to smear some glue on the edges of all 4 surfaces (fuse / rudder hinge on both sides), let the glue set up to get "tacky", then apply tape.

I've got ShoeGoo in the toolbox, but the reports of repairs seem to discuss UHU POR glue. Will ShoeGoo work in this application, or should I wait until tomorrow and try to pick up some UHU POR from a craft shop?

Or,are there other glues that work equally well?

Lastly, any reason to go with CA-style hinges over full hinge tape?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article ParkZone T-28 Trojan RTF Review Jim Walker Electric Warbirds 893 Oct 31, 2016 12:25 AM
Official Parkzone P-51 Owners Thread - Part 2 monitor Parkflyers 2602 Jun 15, 2014 04:51 PM
Discussion Parkzone T-28 Trojan Thread Edge767 Parkflyers 6527 Jun 04, 2008 05:29 AM
Sold Parkzone T-28 Trojan, 480 960kv Motors (2) Joe in Dublin Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 4 Jan 17, 2008 01:34 PM
Wanted Parkzone T-28 Trojan webejpn01 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 4 Oct 25, 2007 02:48 PM