This thread is privately moderated by jarel design, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
May 14, 2008, 02:06 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Full Size Slope Glider!!!!

One of my earliest... (Back when I didn't really understand that if this thing didn't work, dead, meant permanent! lol! (I can laugh now, but at one point I was pretty broken up with pieces of metal stuck in my body! (Don't try this at home kids, I am a professional! (Ha! Ha! Ha! ... You should see my scars!)

Glad I did it... grateful I'm still alive...

First design experienced a catastrophic wing spar failure being towed behind a truck! (I was 18... I was NOT wearing a helmet... I didn't know any better!)

Second design actually flew... This time I wore a helmet and launched atop a large sand dune (same place these photos were taken!) The contraption glided, but I wanted to soar back and forth along this hill the way the seagulls were flying!

This contraption actually soared! rudder elevator (later converted to two stick/aileron, elevator and rudder) I flew it for a while but ultimately crashed (Badly) competing in a spot landing competition... Classic, overshoot, hard banking turn, stall, fall down and scream in pain! *smile* Ok... got that out of my system! (I still have a set of plans for a full size B-2 Mitchell wing! 16:1 glide ratio!
to remove ads between posts
May 16, 2008, 03:43 AM
Hi Jarel,
I myself built a glider take off to foot...
It was a great experience.
Too long to build but for a fine result.
congratulation for your glider.

Stéphane

http://www.carbondragon.ch/Book%20du%20Carbon%20Dragon/CD%20en%20l'air/index.htm
May 19, 2008, 03:03 PM
Sink stinks
Cool! Glad to hear you didn't go the way of Otto Lilienthal.
Oct 27, 2009, 01:29 PM
Ken's CAD Models
Richard,

You would'nt happen to be aquainted with Mike Sandlin ( http://home.att.net/~m--sandlin/bug.htm ) would you? He has some awesome glider work as well, and I believe he is out in your neck of the woods.

Ken
Oct 27, 2009, 02:03 PM