Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Jul 17, 2001, 02:23 PM
dwood99 is offline
Find More Posts by dwood99
Registered User

Computer Power supply for Foam Cutting?


Anyone ever use one? I'm kicking around the idea of a poly-hydral, white foam and tape speed 400 trainer for my son. I'd like to do it as cheaply as possible and have many computer power supplies available due to my job. I would think that 250 watts and 12.6 volts should work, but?

Thanks

Dave
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 17, 2001, 04:11 PM
LyndonC is offline
Find More Posts by LyndonC
Registered User
Computer Power Supplies work fine.
I use one to successfully cut foam.
I have found that 0.016" Guitar wire gives a good temperature for cutting foam. I have also tried 0.010" wire but doesn't work as well as it has a higher resistance therefore doesn't get as hot. The Guitar wire is approx. 3' long.

I actually have two pieces of guitar wire and use one for tensioning and also as a variable resistance. Just connect an aligator clip on the wire and slide it along to change the cutting temperature.
ans ASCII drawing of the bow

*------tension wire---------*
* *
*****************************
* *
*________cutting wire_______*

The * characters represent the wooden frame.
Tension wire is connected to a small turn buckle for tightening the cutting wire.

hope the info will help you.

Lyndon
Old Jul 17, 2001, 04:16 PM
LyndonC is offline
Find More Posts by LyndonC
Registered User
Bad ASCII picture will try this


<img
src="file:///C:/Program%20Files/Microsoft%20FrontPage%20Express/temp/wpe767F.jpg"
width="539" height="359"></p>

Old Jul 17, 2001, 04:21 PM
LyndonC is offline
Find More Posts by LyndonC
Registered User
<img src="file:///C:/bow.bmp"
width="1024" height="768">
Old Jul 18, 2001, 12:55 AM
buckeyes1997 is offline
Find More Posts by buckeyes1997
Registered User
buckeyes1997's Avatar
but doesn't work as well as it has a higher resistance therefore doesn't get as hot.

actually the resistance is what makes it hot in the first place. if you were to use a superconductor it would prolly never get hot...hehehe.
Old Jul 18, 2001, 02:22 PM
dwood99 is offline
Find More Posts by dwood99
Registered User
Hey LyndonC,

Thanks for the reply. I'll give it a try soon.

Dave


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power supply for foam cutting eran_k Foamies (Kits) 5 Mar 08, 2005 05:08 AM
computer power supply for foam cutting?? RCFlyer55 Foamies (Kits) 30 Jan 15, 2005 11:13 AM
ATX (PC) Power Supply for Foam Cutting? Jim Buzzeo DIY Electronics 40 Oct 14, 2004 08:18 AM
Pryamid 14amp Power Supply for foam cutting mt_100 Electric Plane Talk 11 Sep 14, 2003 11:40 AM
Help with power supply for foam cutting zbrubaker Foamies (Kits) 0 Oct 28, 2002 06:45 AM