Thread Tools
Apr 08, 2011, 10:34 PM
The loose nut behind the TX
JeffSchre's Avatar
That it could be...I'll know for sure when I get the white EF spinner I'm planning to replace the red one with...red would have looked better with the old scheme but just doesn't look quite right with the new color scheme.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Apr 09, 2011, 06:28 AM
Registered User
Guys, I have got this thing and I love it, but have one small problem..I can`t get the elevator to trim properly. If my last move was a inside loop, it comes out and needs a click or two of down trim.. vise versa if it was outside..The servo is a new Hitec HS85mg..could it be this thing is not centering very well?? it looks fine on the ground and the linkage is ok. but something isn`t correct..I have tried a few different CGs....it just doesn`t track well pitch wise...thx..Jason
Apr 09, 2011, 07:06 AM
I like the violent stuff!
Hey guys Rob at ADC Hobbystore sells an aluminum oversize prop nut that eliminates the need for a washer. Take a look on page 973. And it doesn't chew up the aluminum prop adapter like a steel nut.
Apr 09, 2011, 07:25 AM
Registered User
kenelder's Avatar
Think I'd try a different servo, shouldn't be doing that....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mazjag
Guys, I have got this thing and I love it, but have one small problem..I can`t get the elevator to trim properly. If my last move was a inside loop, it comes out and needs a click or two of down trim.. vise versa if it was outside..The servo is a new Hitec HS85mg..could it be this thing is not centering very well?? it looks fine on the ground and the linkage is ok. but something isn`t correct..I have tried a few different CGs....it just doesn`t track well pitch wise...thx..Jason
Apr 09, 2011, 08:25 AM
Don't give in to gravity
Gravitycheat's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazjag
Guys, I have got this thing and I love it, but have one small problem..I can`t get the elevator to trim properly. If my last move was a inside loop, it comes out and needs a click or two of down trim.. vise versa if it was outside..The servo is a new Hitec HS85mg..could it be this thing is not centering very well?? it looks fine on the ground and the linkage is ok. but something isn`t correct..I have tried a few different CGs....it just doesn`t track well pitch wise...thx..Jason
I have found that the 82's and 85's get "sloppy" over time and don't center perfectly. is your 85 new? If so, return it. A new gear set would probably mine , i just have not tried it yet. It could be that i am hard on them. Kind-a-like red headed step children
Apr 09, 2011, 08:28 AM
Registered User
Yeah, I just ordered another one...Its new and I don`t see anything wrong, but maybe its a bum one..Other than that I love the plane...I`m not all that good and I can make the plane dead still in a hover..
Apr 09, 2011, 08:32 AM
Time to Fly AJ's Best!
heritageflyer's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazjag
Guys, I have got this thing and I love it, but have one small problem..I can`t get the elevator to trim properly. If my last move was a inside loop, it comes out and needs a click or two of down trim.. vise versa if it was outside..The servo is a new Hitec HS85mg..could it be this thing is not centering very well?? it looks fine on the ground and the linkage is ok. but something isn`t correct..I have tried a few different CGs....it just doesn`t track well pitch wise...thx..Jason
Swap it with an Aileron Servo and see if the problem moves or improves. Sounds like a bad servo, (If pushing the Elevator Pushrod by hand, disconnected from the Servo and the Elevator has No Binding) that is.
Apr 09, 2011, 10:15 AM
Registered User
yeah, I though of that, but didn`t want to swap for a roll problem instead..I`m just putting a new one it, but I don`t see anything wrong..thx..J
Apr 09, 2011, 12:06 PM
Sippin' on Kool Aid
Had some fun yesterday after class. Nothing like 85 degrees, 5 mph winds, and then hordes of cheerleaders swarming into daytona beach.
Apr 09, 2011, 12:36 PM
Ta-dah!
blakevan's Avatar
I miss living in DB.
Apr 09, 2011, 12:38 PM
Registered User
Dennis C's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazjag
Guys, I have got this thing and I love it, but have one small problem..I can`t get the elevator to trim properly. If my last move was a inside loop, it comes out and needs a click or two of down trim.. vise versa if it was outside..The servo is a new Hitec HS85mg..could it be this thing is not centering very well?? it looks fine on the ground and the linkage is ok. but something isn`t correct..I have tried a few different CGs....it just doesn`t track well pitch wise...thx..Jason
Check for any binding in the elevator hinges, and control linkage. if the quick links on the servo arm or control horn are to tight it will not center, same for any binding in the hinges. every thing should move with out any friction.

if every thing is free try switching servos just to make sure it is a servo problem.

Dennis
Apr 09, 2011, 01:27 PM
May the Farce be with you...
refugeefromcalif's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by blakevan
I miss living in DB.
I miss the women in So Cal. but, I prefer Living in Alabama.

George
Apr 09, 2011, 01:47 PM
Here We Go!
Safety Hawk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mazjag
yeah, I though of that, but didn`t want to swap for a roll problem instead..I`m just putting a new one it, but I don`t see anything wrong..thx..J
I don't think he means permanently, I think he means so you can isolate the problem. If the elevator trim issue continues after you swap servos, it's most likely a binding issue....and it the trim issue follows the servos to the aileron then its the servo.
Apr 09, 2011, 03:48 PM
Registered User
Azlodaniel's Avatar
Just started putting my slick together and went to tighten down the set screw for the pull pull cable and couldn't because there weren't enough threads for it to grab. So I Drilled it deeper, what do you guys think, will it be strong enough? I can tighten it down with out any issues.
Apr 09, 2011, 03:59 PM
Sippin the Koolaid!
losifanatic's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by azlodaiel
Just started putting my slick together and went to tighten down the set screw for the pull pull cable and couldn't because there weren't enough threads for it to grab. So I Drilled it deeper, what do you guys think, will it be strong enough? I can tighten it down with out any issues.
Yeah that will be fine!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Need New 3d Plane from Previes gear. NoMercy 3D Flying 2 Jun 06, 2006 04:07 AM
New 3D planes from GWS? assib GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 4 Feb 24, 2005 12:34 AM
Sneak Peak At NEW 3D Plane from Dick Rankin thechosen1one Foamies (Kits) 5 Oct 11, 2004 01:27 PM
New 3D Planes from Fliton LTChip Parkflyers 1 Jun 19, 2003 02:17 PM
New "3D Aircraft" Discussion Group Proposal Tim H. Foamies (Kits) 1 May 02, 2003 09:57 PM