SA6 Short Sealand from Ivan’s plans. - RC Groups
Apr 25, 2008, 06:04 PM
Build Log

SA6 Short Sealand from Ivan’s plans.

I’m a long-term leaner on the door-post at the workshops of RCG but this is my first attempt at a thread. I started building a Short Sealand from the Ivan Pettigrew plans late last year; I have been keeping my own log of progress and hopefully there are some pictures with this post.

Reading the threads here from other builders of Ivan’s designs – especially the flying boats – has been a very useful and enjoyable exercise indeed – thank you! Who could resist the flying shots and videos, collected together on Luke’s thread?

We all have different ideas and approaches to a build, so it will be good to hear from other builders and hopefully, to compare notes and ideas. Are there any more new Sealands or other flying boats out there under construction?

The Sealand’s wing will be in three pieces for easy transport (it has to go on its holidays in order to get to water!) I’m also weighing all wood to (try to!) keep the weight low. If there is any interest I’ll jog along with a few more posts until I catch up with present progress – catching up is unlikely to take too long though, given my rate of building!

Having decided to construct a three-piece plug-in wing - and as the one straight line in the structure was the wing top surface - the three panels were jigged upside down on the building board. If the pictures leave any questions please say. The method was to use all ribs whole without halving them; to try to avoid ‘fit’ problems by check-drawing all the tapered outer-panel ribs; to produce the constant-chord centre-section ribs by the ‘sandwich’ method and to control weight by using selected 6lb stock that was firm... well, you can but try!

Paul W.
to remove ads between posts
Apr 27, 2008, 12:22 PM

Constructing the wing panels.