iCharger 1010B+, 106B+, 208B, 206B, 306B and 3010B - Page 873 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Nov 04, 2012, 10:15 PM
Registered User
Cheese5's Avatar
I think my icharger 106B+ has a problem. It can never charger above 3A 4S (or 3S)? I thought it was my power supply, but that was rated at 105W and using a EC06 charger, it could put out 3.2A (limit for ECo6) at a steady 15V. But when powering the icharger once it reaches 3A, the input voltage and current drops to zero? The charger and power supply are not hot or even warm at all. I tried a different power supply with the same results. I even hooked the icharger up with a fully charged 4S to charger another 4S. The input voltage once it reaches/passes 3A drops.

What's wrong with my charger?

Icharger 106+ problem (0 min 55 sec)
Last edited by Cheese5; Nov 04, 2012 at 11:28 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 04, 2012, 10:36 PM
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimbeaver
If using balance/parallel board try different board/wires. If possible try battery on a different charger. Have you verified with a Cell Meter that all cells can be read through the balance wire and that they are all within acceptable limits? Majority of the time the issue is not with the charger but with the items connected to the charger.
I tried with multiple batteries and got the same result. I dont have another board or charger unfortunately. However, I checked the voltage at the end of the cable with the battery attached and that is fine. The problem is in the charger....
Nov 05, 2012, 04:04 AM
Registered User
Trevorh's Avatar
Cheese5. It looks like you are using the input jack to power your charger. Try using the fly leads instead.

Trevor
Nov 05, 2012, 04:42 AM
Registered User
rizky_p's Avatar
Has anyone noticed this?
http://www.progressiverc.com/icharger-4010duo.html
Is it made by Junsi? Seems to be a mother of all charger, nice but too much power for me.
Assuming that it is made by Junsi according to the search i made, please also make a smaller version like 20A or 10A each channel Junsi, Loves the LCD. I am considering a second 106+ but might be getting a smaller icharger-4010duo if it is in future roadmap.
Last edited by rizky_p; Nov 05, 2012 at 04:47 AM.
Nov 05, 2012, 04:49 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
There's a whole thread on the upcoming 4010 here

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...ht=icharg+4010
Nov 05, 2012, 09:05 AM
Registered User
rizky_p's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jj604
There's a whole thread on the upcoming 4010 here

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...ht=icharg+4010
thanks
Nov 06, 2012, 08:37 AM
Registered User
High will I damage my 106B+ if I use an input voltage of 19.5V? (having a nice compact powersupply (180W) to a laptop, which I want to use).

BR
Patrik
Nov 06, 2012, 08:45 AM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Very likely you will release the magic smoke from it and it will become dead and mostly only good for use as a paper weight.

Electronic devices have a max. voltage input listed for a good reason. If you feel you must use that power supply then you could add some heavy duty diaodes to its' output to drop it belos 18V and in fact I would suggest dropping it closer to 16V. Seems like a lot of bother when power supplies are not that expensive but some like to tinker.

A great thread on power supplies


https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...t=power+suppli

Charles
Nov 06, 2012, 08:46 AM
Registered User
Yes. The input rating is max 18V.
Nov 07, 2012, 02:08 AM
Registered User
ok, thanks guys!
Nov 09, 2012, 03:47 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by silva916
Hello i have a little problem with my new 3010B,

When i want too charge a 8S lipo ( 2 x 4S ) in balance mode i get the error OVER VOLTAGE.
I have done the balance plug from the Lipo 1 ( negative wire ) in the minus from the balance board (4S ) and the balance plug from lipo 2 ( positive wire ) in the other socket of the balance board. The other positive wire ( lipo 1 ) connected too the negative wire
( lipo 2 )

What am i doing wrong ?

Gr Frank
Problem sorted out !
Wanted too say thanks to David from Progresive RC for repair or replacing
the Junsi 3010B.
Great customer service !

Gr Frank
Nov 11, 2012, 04:04 PM
Registered User
Hi
today I plugged in power my i charger 206B and this came up on the screen.
Since then I can do nothing to recover ot.
I tried updating it with no luck.
Any idea?
Nov 11, 2012, 07:38 PM
BGR
BGR
Foam Junkie
Quote:
Originally Posted by Panospap
Hi
today I plugged in power my i charger 206B and this came up on the screen.
Since then I can do nothing to recover ot.
I tried updating it with no luck.
Any idea?
Random characters on the display is a sign of memory corruption. Try re-flashing it.
Nov 11, 2012, 07:46 PM
Registered User
How do you go about doing that (re-flashing the memory) ?
Nov 12, 2012, 07:05 AM
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
If you have done a sucessful update in the past then prepare as normal and then

Hook up to cpmputer , Hold Stop button on charger, power on charger (screen will go black and then turn on), Update as usual.

FYI I have not had to do such a hard flash in over 3 years and that was on a 208 but it worked for several other iCharger owners.

Charles


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best charger/discharger $ can buy namancio Batteries and Chargers 30 Jan 31, 2010 03:52 PM
Power Pacer Battery charger/discharger ACE_McCOOL Batteries and Chargers 4 Oct 22, 2002 01:39 PM
NIB Hitec CG-325 Charger/Discharger/Cycler for 4-9 cells - $39! Jason M Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Oct 03, 2002 04:29 AM
WTB Good charger/discharger 10 + cells WickedFunRC Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 05, 2002 09:55 PM