Jan 06, 2003, 09:32 PM
Thread OP

How high to catch a thermal?

How high do you normally have to fly before you can start catching thermals? I'm a total newbie so promptly dismiss me if this is ridiculous. I swear that my plane seemed to fly more sluggish when it's closer to the ground & powered down as compared to when I go way up & power down to a similar throttle setting. Yesterday I was flying in very little surface wind but when I'd get up about 200' or so the plane took off & kept climbing. At one point I was having trouble seeing it & I was getting nervous sticking it down until I was comfortable with it. I was flying it "on a close reach" (excuse the newbie using sailing terminology ) -- sideways to the wind & trying to slightly turn up into the wind very gently almost like I was trying to beat a sailboat upwind. I tell you I had the plane down to around 1/4 throttle & I felt like I could fly around for an hour up there just going back & forth/in circles.

What ever I was doing it sure was fun!

Chris
to remove ads between posts
Jan 06, 2003, 10:02 PM
Ascended Master
Thermals start at the ground.
At the 1960 King Orange Internats in Florida, my A-2 Nordic was almost to the ground after being released at 180 feet, when the wings wiggled, and up it went for a max.
You have to learn the signals of a thermal.
First, fly upwind about 45 degrees off the wind, and beat back and forth, always turning into the wind. A direct entry to a thermal is indicated by the nose lowering, or more easily seen, the tail coming up, as the plane adjusts itself to the rising air.
If one wing goes into the thermal, that wing will rise.. you turn toward that side to get into the thermal.
Thermals generally come in pulses, with a minute or three between them. That's why you go upwind. Flying downwind looking for one results in long walks.
Jan 06, 2003, 10:24 PM
B for Bruce
Sound to me like you were in a thermal. If you'd powered right off the model probably would have kept on going up.