Mar 02, 2008, 06:49 PM
Thread OP
Idea

NOTAR Heli

as you can guess from the name i am new to the rc helicopter scene however i have been told that i am skilled at making things and i am currently studying physics i have allot of experience with rc cars and planes so i understand servos and power units.

the reason i have posted this is because i have a idea i would like to build from scratch a NOTAR rc helicopter and i am just wandering if anyone has ideas on how this can be done.

i know that this will not by any stretch of the imagination be easy but i am being taught by a instructor at the moment how to fly a rc helicopter and i am capable of flying well (or so i am told) please don't tell me this is a big project or it will be expensive/hard or that i should drop the idea because i want to do it and if i want to do something i usually go ahead and do it.

any ideas will be appreciated

Many thanks
Carl

attached a diagram showing how a NOTAR heli works.

to remove ads between posts
Mar 02, 2008, 06:57 PM
by Alary Design
Vario makes NOTAR helicopters

http://www.vario-helicopter.de/md_520n.html?&L=1
Mar 02, 2008, 07:08 PM
Thread OP
yes i had seen those but i would love to scratch build one
Mar 02, 2008, 07:10 PM
Renewed interest
sounds like fun, for the sake of simplicity i would consider using a ducted fan in a boom tube to provide the 'wind' for this excercise, controling it will be fun.

Please keep us informed with your progress.
Mar 02, 2008, 07:19 PM
Thread OP
i wander if you can set this up with a gyro well i think i will draw some plans tomorrow and put them up for you all to comment
Mar 02, 2008, 07:21 PM
You'll need to use a gyro.

Question: can you already fly helis? Because this won't be the machine to learn on. Fun project though.
Mar 02, 2008, 07:24 PM
Team Mulikow
This project is best for bigger scale. Some guys have been working on one without success in micro scale.
Thread OP