Old Mar 01, 2008, 02:44 PM
Find More Posts by Edwinzea
the answer 42 is
Discussion

Thrust Vs Weight??

Hey there

Im new in electrics, Im now plannig to build a EDF BD5 but I was wondering how to select and EDF what is a good relation Thrust Vs Weight??

thanks for your advices

Edwin
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 01, 2008, 07:42 PM
Find More Posts by vintage1
EDF? go for at least 150W/lb unless the model is quite slow. Probably at least 30% thrust to weight needed.

Probably more info in the forum devoted to EDF.
Old Mar 01, 2008, 10:11 PM
Find More Posts by Ron van Sommeren
homo ludens modellisticus
@Edwin
Meet the natives:
www.modelbouwforum.nl

Hey, another 'uomo'

Vriendelijke groeten Ron van Sommeren
int. electric fly-in, Nijmegen, the Netherlands
Old Mar 02, 2008, 07:28 AM
Find More Posts by Edwinzea
the answer 42 is
thanks Ron But my dutch is not so good,

good fligths

EZ
Old Mar 02, 2008, 12:33 PM
Find More Posts by Wulf_Flieger
ProBro Wulf
Edwin, General rule of thumb for 3d is 150watts/Lb of plane for good 3d, 200 watts/pound for great 3d power. Depends on your flying style.
Old Mar 02, 2008, 01:03 PM
Find More Posts by Hasina75
Edwinzea> As a rule of thumb, you need at least 1lb of thrust to fly a 3lb model. A model aircraft can not be flown or it just barely stays in the air if the thrust to weight ratio is less than 1/3= 0.33. Some cheap r/c flying toys you purchase at your local toy store have a ratio of 0.25. That's why many customers are not happy with them. They just bring them back to the store and ask for a refund!!!. These are the thrust to weight ratio guidelines:

1lb/3lbs = 0.33 basic flying

1.5lb/3lbs = 0.5 advanced flying

1.71lb/3lbs = 0.57 aggressive flying

There is also a relationship between watts/lb and thrust to weight ratio. If you are curious about it, just look for my thread in which I talk about it. I can not post it twice.
Last edited by Hasina75; Mar 02, 2008 at 01:21 PM.
Old Apr 01, 2008, 07:34 PM