Feb 24, 2008, 01:50 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Molded BS-1 scratch build

I'm just beginning to undertake a build of a fully molded BS-1. I just love the looks of the plane and want a challenge. I've done only a few small molded parts and had plenty of trouble with them but I want to learn to do it right with this plane.

I've done my research. There are a fair number of pictures on the web. I've even found a BS-1 owner in Wichita who will help out when I have questions.

It turns out there's a guy in Germany who's done this already. I was a little disappointed at first but he's not producing them commercially and I like the looks of his model so I'm going to go ahead anyway. His site's at www.cb-roter-baron.de-index.htm.

Also, and don't flame me for this, I fly electric scale and I do it the "ugly" way. I cut off the nose and fit folding props and a spinner. I paint the props white so they blend with the fuse and I think they look pretty darned nice in the air. I don't have to mess with aerotow and I don't have to spend thousands of dollars on the fancy retracting systems. I just hand launch them and they are spectacular to see. I've found that the Neu 1509/1.5d motor has worked beautifully for this. With a 3S lipo it'll handle up to about 150 oz. planes. With 4S it handles my 4 meter Salto spectacularly at about 215 oz. It climbs out very steepy and is at 800 feet in less than 15 seconds. I think the Neu with the 4S pack would handle a 300 + oz. plane very nicely.

But that's really an aside. Back to the build. I considered doing 1/3 scale but that's a lot of plane for a first molded project. And, though I like a big plane as much as the rest of us, there's something pretty comfortable about a 4.5 meter plane as compared with a 6 meter plane. I actually fly from my local school yard a lot. It's a big field and plenty of room to fly and land but there does get to be a point where you feel a plane is just to big for that kind of environment.