Cermark Victor - RC Groups
Feb 14, 2008, 10:39 PM
Build Log

Cermark Victor

I've been wanting to get a nice electric sailplane for a while now and I finally picked up the Cermark Victor.

http://www.cermark.net/List.php?TID=9

I read a nice review of the kit in the March 2007 issue of Quiet Flyer. What appealed to me was the completeness of the kit; it comes with a full hardware set. Cermark also sells a recommended "Power pack" which contains a brushless motor, ESC, carbon-fiber folding prop, aluminum spinner. Total price, kit with power pack, around $270 shipped.

I'm going to build it using four servos to drive the V-tail as a "ruddervator." I've got some Hitec HS-65s spares from my Trex that I will use.

This is my first build ever so I would appreciate any tips or suggestions!
Last edited by glucoseboy; Feb 14, 2008 at 11:55 PM.
to remove ads between posts
Feb 14, 2008, 10:52 PM
The 3-piece wings are balsa-sheeted foam core covered with Oracover.

The ailerons and stabilizer are hinged with Oracover as well.
Feb 14, 2008, 11:18 PM
The fuslage is fiberglass and comes with a motor mount, servo tray and pushrods pre-installed.

The finish on the fuslage is quite nice.
Feb 14, 2008, 11:24 PM
Also included: servo covers, v-tail setup gauge, and hardware pack, servo extensions, control horns, etc.

And the all-important: Illustrated-Manual!
Feb 14, 2008, 11:31 PM
The motor included in the recommended "Power-pack" is a Cermark 2820-1020 outrunner. It's a small outrunner, 28mm wide by 37mm long. It's 1020 kV and is rated to pull a maximum of 22 amps.

The ESC is the Cermark 30BL which is their 30 amp ESC. It comes with an on/off switch which is handy (although at this point, I'm not sure where I will mount the switch)

The recommended prop is a 10 x 8 carbon-fiber folding prop. Steve at Cermark said that they've recently noticed some of the props coming badly out of balance. He recommended I go with a Graupner prop so I paid the difference and had them swap it out.