Thread Tools
Mar 08, 2008, 11:57 PM
Registered User
hondaboy92hatch's Avatar
Thread OP

viper


Hi all,
I did final cg on the viper and I had to ad 15 ounces of lead to the nose. It will still get flown tomorrow but I am now in search of getting a 3 cell and a 2 cell and trying to get rid of the excess weight. This really sucks because I hate adding lead and dead weight to a plane.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 09, 2008, 12:03 AM
Yes..ok..maybe..lol.....
Yikes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Mar 09, 2008, 02:24 PM
Registered User
hondaboy92hatch's Avatar
Thread OP

viper flying


Hi all,
We tried to fly the viper today. It was very touchy so it didn't go so well. but all in all the only damage was pretzelling the gear and a broken prop. here are a few pictures.
Mar 09, 2008, 04:59 PM
Registered User
PylonDave's Avatar
You should move the motor forward somehow , with some sort of bracket and take that 15 oz. of wieght out.
Mar 09, 2008, 05:31 PM
smokin electrons...
skyzking's Avatar
How was the speed?
Mar 09, 2008, 06:22 PM
Registered User
hondaboy92hatch's Avatar
Thread OP

viper


Hi all,
I plane to remotor this plane. The motor I was sold is about the size of an eflite 480 but high kv. I might try this motor again and I can get metal standoffs from the local hardware store. We didn't get far enough to see how fast it was moving hopefully next weekend.

Joe
Mar 12, 2008, 09:25 PM
Registered User
hondaboy92hatch's Avatar
Thread OP

New Viper motor


Hi all,
I just ordered a new scorpion motor for the Viper. It is a high Kv Heli motor. I hope The guys from Scorpion can help out with the motor as I forgot the info on this new motor.

Joe
Mar 13, 2008, 09:33 AM
Yes..ok..maybe..lol.....
Yikes!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Mar 13, 2008, 07:48 PM
Caution:Makes sharp left turns
Troy's Avatar
Use Scorpion's motor calculator you can download from the site. It is pretty accurate from what I've seen.
Mar 13, 2008, 09:55 PM
Registered User
hondaboy92hatch's Avatar
Thread OP

viper


Thanks Troy, I sent you a pm if possible any reccomendations to get this Viper screaming fast would be very apprecited.

Joe
Mar 21, 2008, 10:06 PM
Hooper, full throttle!
Tommy D's Avatar
What kind of room is in the fuse for a battery pack? I have a 4S 3300 I would like to use on this model, but fear it's too large.

Tommy D
Mar 22, 2008, 12:22 AM
Registered User
hondaboy92hatch's Avatar
Thread OP

Battery room


Hi Tommy,
I am useing a neu 5 s 2500 mah pack. and it will fill up the whole inside of the fuse. I had to run dual servos in the wing so I could fit that. I just bought a scorpio 3026-1900 KV Heli motor. I am going to mount it and try to fly it again next weekend. you will have to run stand offs on the motor mine came out super tail heavy. so I would reccomend to set up your battery to split them if you can and try to get them as close to the firewall as possibel. this plane will be neat for about 2 minutes or so when I get all the bugs worked out.

Joe
Mar 22, 2008, 12:10 PM
DS JUNKY
Hard to make this plane move like a quickie with so little battery. 5S 2500 is the biggest you can fit? That is surprising. I use to race Q500 and I think with some planning you can easily find more room in there for batteries. You will need to completely relocate all the servos and remove the servo trays etc so that you completely open up the fuse for batteries. I fit 6S 3700 in my royal models trick which was an even smaller fusalage than a Q500. Looking at the pics you should be able to easily fit even more battery than that in this plane. You may have to use multiple packs loaded shot gun style but it is very doable.

The right prop for this plane is a 8x8E. With your 5S 2500 pack you are limited to about 50-55 amps of use which puts you right at 1500kv on a 8x8. 15,500rpm, 900watt input power. Pitch speed only about 115-120mph. I would reevaluate your battery situation and report back and we'll figure you out a power system to make this plane fly like a real quickie with a Nelson or Jett AMA motor.
Last edited by Z06kal; Mar 22, 2008 at 12:21 PM.
Mar 22, 2008, 12:27 PM
Hooper, full throttle!
Tommy D's Avatar
Just as a FYI I ran some numbers today from my US25 power system. My thoughts were to transplant the entire system into the Viper. That said if i can't fit my packs I have on hand it's a dead duck.

Axi 2826 10 CC-60 4S 3300 Extream pack 11x7E Prop

790W For a cost of 52A and a RPM of 10740 <71 MPH>

That combo flys the stick very well but it would be one slow viper! So I switched to a 10x10E and got the following.

10x10E 826W for a cost of 56A and RPMs of 10000 <94 MPH>

Ok, thats going in the right direction BUT honestly thats a lot of amps to put through the Axi even with a voltage drop down to 14.6. But honestly would a quickie need a 10" prop? Ok on to a 9x9E prop. Remember same pack size.

9x9E 685W for a cost of 45.9A and 10890 RPM <92 MPH>

Now THATS more like it. That would be a starting point to test the Viper on I think. But I just had to try one last test. Same prop, 9x9 but now on 5S.

9x9 <5s> 1032W for a cost of 58.4W and 16200 RPM <138MPH>

That was the end of my testing for the day. I should have tried a 8x8E however it's too nice to mess around with all these calculations when I don't even know if the packs will fit in this model.

Take it for what you paid for it!

Tommy D
Mar 22, 2008, 12:40 PM
DS JUNKY
I think even 9x9 is excessive for a quickie. 8x8 or 7x7 would be the props to use.


Quick Reply
Message:

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Found great planes viper 500 hondaboy92hatch Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Feb 10, 2008 10:11 PM
Build Log Another Great Planes Rapture 40 Build Log OrlandoP Fuel Plane Talk 68 Nov 22, 2007 08:15 PM
Discussion Great Planes Viper 500 for sale charlesbair Pylon Racing 0 Aug 31, 2007 08:40 PM
For Sale Great Planes viper 500 red prophanger1 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Aug 15, 2006 10:39 PM
Great Planes Viper 500 Innaugural Flight Brian Nixon Fuel Plane Talk 0 Nov 23, 2003 06:18 PM