Lama 3 Flybar, How light can you go?? - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Feb 07, 2008, 08:34 PM
Registered User
jamesppp's Avatar
Discussion

Lama 3 Flybar, How light can you go??


My Lama 3 is flying great with Xtreme blades, Longer shaft and the pitch pushrod moved out 1 hole on the servo control arm. Im going to cut off a stock flybar and wonder if the weight collars from my HoneyBee flybar would be enough weight for the shortened Lama 3 flybar...That should work , shouldnt it???
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 07, 2008, 08:38 PM
My middle name is Alton
AltonMan's Avatar
You can take the weights completely off - just use the rubber ends as weights. I've done that with my Robins - flies much more responsively. Give it a try.
Feb 07, 2008, 08:47 PM
Registered User
jamesppp's Avatar
Cool, If I cut the bar at the weights that will leave 7"..Is that good. I think I will lock those little collars on at first. They dont weigh much
Feb 07, 2008, 09:36 PM
Registered User
most of the aftermarket or performance flybars are 7" total length.

Check out this thread....a lot of good info and pics on flybar mods
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=810414
Feb 08, 2008, 06:28 AM
Registered User Wannabe
rodneygt's Avatar
James, I've not lessened the weight but just as an experiment a couple of weeks ago, I removed the caps and weights and carefully cut the "hooks" off. I then carefully bent two more "hooks" and reinstalled the caps and weights. This has all but ended blade strikes. And as you say, it came out to just a tad over 7". I'm considering cutting one of the weights in half and trying that as total weight - just havent gotten around to it.

Rodney
Feb 08, 2008, 07:38 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jamesppp
My Lama 3 is flying great with Xtreme blades, Longer shaft and the pitch pushrod moved out 1 hole on the servo control arm. Im going to cut off a stock flybar and wonder if the weight collars from my HoneyBee flybar would be enough weight for the shortened Lama 3 flybar...That should work , shouldnt it???
If you're considering using the flybar weights from a Honeybee fixed-pitch, I've had very good results with that setup on a Lama3.
Feb 08, 2008, 09:16 PM
Registered User
jamesppp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rmonster
If you're considering using the flybar weights from a Honeybee fixed-pitch, I've had very good results with that setup on a Lama3.

Yep, that is what I did. Used the little wheel collars with set screws that I took off my HoneyBee. They dont weigh much at all....came out 1 hole farther on the elevator(pitch) servo arm and this thing will actually fly forward pretty fast.
A little gust of wind will still catch it just right when it banked or in a nose down attitude in relatily fast forward flight and take it away from you.All you can do is pull back the right stick and hold on. If it pops the nose up and you can apply throttle quickly enough(if you have any altitude left) it might pull out. At least it doesnt break the xtreme blades when it plows in if it doesnt pull out. When this happens it seems to speed up and feels like a radio glitch but it is the wind....I still have a virgin V-3 for a spare if this one ever doesnt make it.I fly my Lama to calm my nerves before trying the new HoneyBee which I am basically hopping around and hovering 20-30 seconds at a time..Lot harder than coaxials but seemed to start coming together for me tonight right at dark thirty..lol


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How light can you go? Halibatsuiba Foamies (Kits) 1 Jul 17, 2004 05:37 AM
How low can you go? epilot Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 3 Dec 26, 2003 02:02 PM
Formosa- How slow can you go? Newberry Parkflyers 6 Sep 26, 2003 06:09 AM
How cheap can you go? blucor basher Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 3 Jun 23, 2003 06:28 PM
How fast can you go? henke High Performance 12 Dec 30, 2001 03:29 AM