Thread Tools
Old Jan 24, 2008, 07:35 PM
jrplane is offline
Find More Posts by jrplane
Fast is good
jrplane's Avatar
Help!

Xdp


I just git one, How do you set fail safe with it??
There was no directions with it.
I played around with it but cant figure out most of it


Jeff
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2008, 07:39 PM
wrightme is offline
Find More Posts by wrightme
Trons and Fumes
wrightme's Avatar
Check the TX/RX manual, and the programming s/w link...


XDP
Old Jan 24, 2008, 07:51 PM
chrisf testpilot is offline
Find More Posts by chrisf testpilot
You can call me FANBOY!
If its the most recent version of the software that was beta tested it doesnt support it yet. I believe there was also going to be a firmware update that was required.
Old Jan 24, 2008, 07:53 PM
skymasterone is offline
Find More Posts by skymasterone
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisf testpilot
If its the most recent version of the software that was beta tested it doesnt support it yet. I believe there was also going to be a firmware update that was required.
Just used mine. Failsafes are now supported!
Old Jan 24, 2008, 07:54 PM
tande is offline
Find More Posts by tande
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrplane
I just git one, How do you set fail safe with it??
There was no directions with it.
I played around with it but cant figure out most of it


Jeff
Yup, Me too---Sure hope someone far smarter than I, can tell me in "Straight/Talk" language how to use this thing!
Old Jan 24, 2008, 07:56 PM
skymasterone is offline
Find More Posts by skymasterone
Registered User
Yeah! A comprehensive manual would be helpfull!
Old Jan 24, 2008, 08:01 PM
chrisf testpilot is offline
Find More Posts by chrisf testpilot
You can call me FANBOY!
Will have to look for a software update then. Still think I may need a firmware upgrade though, I remember Jim mentioning it but not for sure. That would be cool, certainly would make life easy.
Old Jan 24, 2008, 08:46 PM
chrisf testpilot is offline
Find More Posts by chrisf testpilot
You can call me FANBOY!
When you connect what firmware version does your Rx show?
Old Jan 24, 2008, 09:55 PM
jrplane is offline
Find More Posts by jrplane
Fast is good
jrplane's Avatar

Xdp


When I hook up the TX it shows the evo 12 I hooked to it.
Old Jan 24, 2008, 10:05 PM
Darryl Usher is offline
Find More Posts by Darryl Usher
Registered User

Got tx and rec last of DEC and xdp today.


I can't get XDP to bind to the tr or rec. I get blinking light on the XDP but can not see any change on the TX or rec. They bind to each other when both are turned on with no button pushing.
Darryl Usher
Old Jan 24, 2008, 10:09 PM
chrisf testpilot is offline
Find More Posts by chrisf testpilot
You can call me FANBOY!
The failsafe settings are set in the Rx. If you connect to the Rx using the XPS app, what firmware version does it show. Also, click on Options>Advanced Mode it will enable the button to set failsafe position.
Old Jan 24, 2008, 10:13 PM
chrisf testpilot is offline
Find More Posts by chrisf testpilot
You can call me FANBOY!
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darryl Usher
I can't get XDP to bind to the tr or rec. I get blinking light on the XDP but can not see any change on the TX or rec. They bind to each other when both are turned on with no button pushing.
Darryl Usher
You are holding down the prog button when powering up the Rx? You should get a solid orange light. Click Search for device in the software and it should connect pretty quick. If the light is blinking something isnt right, it should go to solid orange if you power on with the prog button pressed.

The bind mode for the software is different than the regular binding mode.
Old Jan 24, 2008, 10:54 PM
ChuckA is offline
Find More Posts by ChuckA
Registered User
A good manual would be helpful but is usually more work than designing and building the product. In a previous incarnation, I was a technical writer before going back to college and getting a new degree so I am familiar with writing manuals. I also wrote a model plotting program and writing a manual that others could understand was a bigger problem than writing the program. You can't imagine the number of totally illogical ways users can find to run programs. Idiots are so ingenious. My experiences with selling software to modelers is why I sympathise with Jim. It is also why I don't do that anymore.
Old Jan 24, 2008, 11:11 PM
e292644 is offline
Find More Posts by e292644
Registered User
e292644's Avatar
Just got mine but my TX module firmware was too old(v1.0) to use XDP.
I was able to use TxDiag to see the stick movement.
Two of my Rx firmware were too old(v1.2) that I was not able to connect by XDP but able to connect with RxDiag.
The only way you can connect your old firmware Tx/Rx module to Diag aplications is:
1. Hold down programming button while turning on the power, wait until green LED light come on, release the programming button and it will start blinking orange.
2. Lunch TxDiag or RxDiag then click BIND to Tx/Rx. You may need to click it several times to get it connected. If not working after several attempted. Switch off the power and start over from step 1 again.

FYI, I wasn't able to connect it without 2~3 BINDING attempts.

My 2 cents..
Old Jan 25, 2008, 10:44 AM
Foamaholic is offline
Find More Posts by Foamaholic
Electric since 1990
Foamaholic's Avatar
When I plug in the XDP the light on it flashes a couple times then turns off. I put my tx in programming mode (orange light) but none of the software works with it. XDP.exe says no device detected. Think I got a bad unit? Or could I be doing something wrong? I don't get an Install New Hardware popup when I plug it in.


Thread Tools