New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 15, 2008, 03:05 PM
clicky is offline
Find More Posts by clicky
Registered User
Help!

Shell I do switch from mode 1 to mode 2


Shell I? I think if I am to do anything like that this is the best time.

I can fly on the simulator in mode 2. Maybe not as precise as with mode 1 but ...

I have learned from day one in mode 1 but I don't know anyone else flying it. Since I've hit a bottom of the learning curve anyhow, I don't mind spending much more time on simulator using mode 2. Weather is really horrible anyway and there won't be much flying in a while and that little I can do in my garden.

But, is it worth? Would you do something like that? Has anyone decided and changed mode and that got proven as a good idea?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 15, 2008, 03:33 PM
danielw is offline
Find More Posts by danielw
Registered User
sorry wrong thread
Old Jan 15, 2008, 03:33 PM
vanepico is offline
Find More Posts by vanepico
My planes have left thrust :s
vanepico's Avatar
i would have assumed it would be easier in mode 2 cause all the basic flight controls are on the same stick, but then if you prefer mode 1 then that is the one you should use
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:29 PM
learninginverted is offline
Find More Posts by learninginverted
Registered User
I switched from mode 1 to mode 2 during my learning process. I found it alot more logical since the entire cyclic controls are on one side. Further, it gives a touch of realism since a real heli has all its cyclic controls on the main stick.

Mode 1 really makes no sense. Its like having a cars steering wheel wired the other way around and one of your feet is the gear change while the gear knob is the throttle control. Sure, you get used to it after that, but i dont know why it exists at all
Old Jan 15, 2008, 06:32 PM
vanepico is offline
Find More Posts by vanepico
My planes have left thrust :s
vanepico's Avatar
it would make sense if it was just mode 2 flipped over
Old Jan 15, 2008, 07:32 PM
sqito is offline
Find More Posts by sqito
allways hyper
sqito's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by usuckpoo
I switched from mode 1 to mode 2 during my learning process. I found it alot more logical since the entire cyclic controls are on one side. Further, it gives a touch of realism since a real heli has all its cyclic controls on the main stick.

Mode 1 really makes no sense. Its like having a cars steering wheel wired the other way around and one of your feet is the gear change while the gear knob is the throttle control. Sure, you get used to it after that, but i dont know why it exists at all
Usually people in Asia use Mode 1. In the U.S. we use mode 2, Ive talked to Chinese about it, they say "yes mode 2 is better, but were all mode 1, which makes you a minority. " lol

Its just like reigons on dvds.
Old Jan 15, 2008, 09:23 PM
learninginverted is offline
Find More Posts by learninginverted
Registered User
I am from Asia, but unlike most Asians, i will always question convention. Everyone i know here flies mode 1. If mode 1 was logical, they should have done the same thing with the controls on a real heli.
Old Jan 15, 2008, 09:35 PM
OGBrain is offline
Find More Posts by OGBrain
Registered User
OGBrain's Avatar
I tried learning mode 1 and its just odd. mode 2 is logical to me since the right stick rolls the helicopter in any direction you tell it too on that axis, the left stick works throttle and tail which because they both move with the throttle is the logical way....

Why on earth was mode 1 ever created in the first place? does anyone even know?
Old Jan 15, 2008, 11:19 PM
surgicalCFe is offline
Find More Posts by surgicalCFe
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGBrain
I tried learning mode 1 and its just odd. mode 2 is logical to me since the right stick rolls the helicopter in any direction you tell it too on that axis, the left stick works throttle and tail which because they both move with the throttle is the logical way....

Why on earth was mode 1 ever created in the first place? does anyone even know?
I've been wondering this myself. The only thing that I can think of is that there are certain people that like Mode 1 better, it just works better for them. Doesn't make a whole lot of sense accept to those that use Mode 1.
Old Jan 15, 2008, 11:19 PM
sqito is offline
Find More Posts by sqito
allways hyper
sqito's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGBrain
I tried learning mode 1 and its just odd. mode 2 is logical to me since the right stick rolls the helicopter in any direction you tell it too on that axis, the left stick works throttle and tail which because they both move with the throttle is the logical way....

Why on earth was mode 1 ever created in the first place? does anyone even know?
lol I asked them that too. My friend working at the hobby shop said it was becuase most people are right handed and people like to have throttle on their right hand.
Old Jan 15, 2008, 11:46 PM
learninginverted is offline
Find More Posts by learninginverted
Registered User
i am left handed, when i first started, i actually wanted mode 3/4 i.e throttle on the right, and full cyclic on the left. This lets my left hand do the sensitive work. But in the end, it was hard enough being a mode 2 flyer in a region that flies mode 1.
Old Jan 16, 2008, 03:24 AM
clicky is offline
Find More Posts by clicky
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by OGBrain
Why on earth was mode 1 ever created in the first place? does anyone even know?
That's simple, as I was explained: two sticks each controlling one axis as a commodity in the 'old days': At first there was only two channels - ailerons and throttle. Then third was added - pitch - to separate stick (on the left since right hand was already taken). Then fourth channel was added - rudder... So mode 2 came after mode 1 people 'correcting' evolution of transmitter...

But, I don't think mode 1 or mode 2 is different from perspective of those who already know how to use them - I wasn't able to fly any without 'learning' them (muscle memory? brain and process of learning?) - logic doesn't help if you have to decide in less then a second (I am sure that there is real number of milliseconds there were logical process cannot kick in - but only learned routine...). Only problem I have is being an ugly duckling having mode 1 whiile everyone around me have mode 2.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! changing CP2 transmitter from MODE 1 to MODE 2 giocp2 Micro Helis 2 Mar 28, 2006 08:12 AM
Discussion CP2 changing the TX from mode 1 to mode 2 jmdombr Micro Helis 1 Mar 27, 2006 04:11 AM
How to switch from Mode 1 to Mode 2 TX Snooptalian Micro Helis 13 Nov 13, 2005 08:00 PM
How do i switch from mode I to mode II on a JR XF421EX Tx snolord1 Radios 3 Mar 15, 2005 02:30 PM