Jan 13, 2008, 08:28 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Profile F-100 Super Sabre, build...

Well, sort of a build, I started drawing the plans from the 3-view on paper yesterday morning after a sleepless night of wondering if it would be a thud or a hun, hun won out mostly due to the color schemes I liked. I finished the plans by 11, and started cutting depron at 3. I got so carried away, I forgot to take photos of the build, but it's similar to my lightning and arrow. Main fuse made out of 6mm depron, two side doublers, vertical tail integral with the main fuse, with a single 1/8" by 1/64 carbon stiffener. I used a 3/8" stick mount. Cutouts on each of the fuse doublers to fit a 3/8" by 1/4" spruce 3" long plate that supports the pivot for the full flying stabilator.

Wing is a single piece of 6mm depron with one horizontal flat 1/8x1/64 carbon on edge, and another 1/8" carbon rod plus two 1/8x1/64 flat reinforcing pieces that glue to the main round spar and support the wing tips. Hinge tape for the ailerons. I was concerned with potentially needing the heavier battery so I beefed up the wing with the extra carbon, glued and then taped on the bottom.

For the first time I used one of the grayson super parkjet motors, a 2212-6 or something, it pulled too much with a 7x6 like I run in the lsspj, around 28 amps, so I propped down to a 6x5.5. I was able to use an eflite stick mount with a little reaming of the holes. I put the thrust line in line with the wing.