Dec 01, 2007, 11:14 PM
Hi Wattage Electrics - Cool
Build Log

BluCor - Nakajima Ki-43 Hayabusa "Oscar"....profile scale,built from 3-view drawings

I have always liked the profile of the Nakajima Hayabusa, so I decided to build a profile scale from 3-view drawings I found online.

This build log will show you the steps I used to complete this airplane.....enjoy.

Step one:

convert and scale the 3-view drawing.
Last edited by Rad Racer; Dec 02, 2007 at 10:36 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Dec 01, 2007, 11:21 PM

My first build.

This is my first build. The test flights went ok, but found it needed a few tweeks before it is ready for prime time
Dec 01, 2007, 11:33 PM
The plans were scaled for a 24" wingspan. The plans were printed using a 60" inkjet plotter.

I cut out the plans with a Exacto blade. The plan templates are traced onto the BluCor foam using a Sharpie pen.....the residual ink is easily removed with rubbing alcohol.

BluCor cuts easily with a "fresh" exacto blade.
Last edited by Rad Racer; Dec 02, 2007 at 09:19 AM.
Dec 01, 2007, 11:51 PM
Fuselage assembly is easy and quick. My design uses a lock/alignment tab system that makes for a straight/strong fuselage.

I have found "Gorilla Glue" works perfect with BluCor. I use a light Coat of Gorilla glue on all the joining surfaces then simple slide the fuse parts together for assembly.

Although this glue is meant to have the surfaces wetted before the glue is applied....I discovered if you do not wet the surfaces the glue still works, but you don't get so much foaming from the joint on to other surfaces.

I really believe Gorilla glue will replace epoxy.....it's that good!
Last edited by Rad Racer; Dec 02, 2007 at 09:49 AM.
Dec 02, 2007, 09:06 AM
The pros and cons of Gorillia glue is the it foams, and it foams.

Good to expand and foam up a bit to get all those hollow spots, but bad to foam since it leaks out all the edges too.