New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Nov 29, 2007, 07:10 AM
Lutin is offline
Find More Posts by Lutin
Registered User
Discussion

Can a Futaba 2.4 Fasst tx work with a Spektrum Rx


Can a Futaba 2.4 Fasst tx work with a Spektrum Rx

Thank you
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 29, 2007, 07:11 AM
pmpjohn is offline
Find More Posts by pmpjohn
Dr John
pmpjohn's Avatar
No!
Old Nov 29, 2007, 09:21 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
And sadly - since they all use proprietary protocols that will likely always be the case. Just like FM PCM brands never played together.

Mike
Old Nov 29, 2007, 09:28 AM
chrisf testpilot is offline
Find More Posts by chrisf testpilot
You can call me FANBOY!
Its not just about protocols though, they are for the most part using different hardware which further adds to the issue of compatibility. Not to mention different modulation schemes.
Old Nov 29, 2007, 09:34 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chrisf testpilot
Its not just about protocols though, they are for the most part using different hardware which further adds to the issue of compatibility. Not to mention different modulation schemes.
Yep - no question compatibility will be within brands only - with the large exception of JR and Spektrum as they use the same stuff.....

Mike
Old Nov 29, 2007, 10:05 AM
chrisf testpilot is offline
Find More Posts by chrisf testpilot
You can call me FANBOY!
There will be some, but it will likely be very limited. Nomadio can control Spectrum ground stuff and there was a post about a Corona 2.4 module system that will work with Spektrum but since they are using off the shelf parts without data encryption that is fairly easy. Futaba will be more difficult since they use their own chips and protocol. And XPS/IFS uses 128 bit encryption for exactly this reason so good luck with that one Honestly as low as prices are now on most 2.4 stuff I dont think there is a huge benefit to having cross brand compatibility. The majority of us RC are pretty brand loyal.
Old Nov 29, 2007, 10:35 AM
village_idiot is offline
Find More Posts by village_idiot
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
The people at Corona said they had not tested their products with Spektrum gear, so they can not confirm that it will or will not work. That Russian Hobby shop either knows something, or is going to have some unhappy customers.
Old Nov 29, 2007, 05:17 PM
Pinecone is offline
Find More Posts by Pinecone
Will fly for food
I would have asked them to send me an Rx to test for them.
Old Nov 30, 2007, 07:31 AM
Lutin is offline
Find More Posts by Lutin
Registered User
So with all those protocols we will probably not see receivers by others compagnies like berg receivers or if we see some there will only going to be for one mfg.
Old Nov 30, 2007, 08:35 AM
udogigahertz is offline
Find More Posts by udogigahertz
Registered User
udogigahertz's Avatar
Exactly!
Old Nov 30, 2007, 08:36 AM
bradpaul is offline
Find More Posts by bradpaul
Suspended Account
This will end when a smart Asian manufacturer offers a low cost 2.4g system and has the smarts to offer the protocols to other manufactures on a reasonable license basis.
Old Nov 30, 2007, 09:05 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bjpaul
This will end when a smart Asian manufacturer offers a low cost 2.4g system and has the smarts to offer the protocols to other manufactures on a reasonable license basis.
Don't know - maybe with Spektrum - but Futaba has long been very proud of their receivers.....

Mike
Old Nov 30, 2007, 09:53 AM
bradpaul is offline
Find More Posts by bradpaul
Suspended Account
Don't want to get too far off topic, but if I was (which I'm not) XPS and Jim Drew, I would consider that my strengths are in product development and my weaknesses are production, distribution and customer service...........

So why not License guys like Castle Creations, Hitec, even Graupner (who today is a distributor) and any other reputable manufacturer to build compatable TX modules and RX units?

The hardware is off the shelf stuff, why not make a few dollars on each unit sold by a Licensee?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Futaba 2.4 FASST 7C, and 12FG edge5foamy Radios 20 Jun 04, 2007 09:21 AM
Discussion Can't get my focus4 tx to work with FMS bobafet1 Simulators 7 Apr 23, 2007 12:33 PM
Discussion will a walkera 4 ch TX work with other receivers? trust416 Micro Helis 0 Apr 11, 2007 12:00 AM
Discussion Can't get Esky (CP2) TX to work with simulator nickbuol Micro Helis 6 Mar 21, 2007 12:02 PM
Does a GWS T4A Tx work with Hitec Rx? bhenry GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 1 Sep 28, 2004 10:14 PM