Nov 18, 2007, 02:47 PM
Planes are cool ;)
Thread OP
Build Log

SnakeBipe (previously Simple Indoor Bipe)

Oh no, not another profile bipe! Its been done before, but I’m throwing in my contribution anyway. Pretty much every aspect of this plane was inspired by something I’ve seen here on RCgroups, so to everyone a big thank you!

After finishing a mini-infineon, which is an awesome plane but a little nippy for my indoor *ahem* skills, and since I had a load of EPP just waiting around, I thought I’d try my hand at designing. I’ve done a couple of self-builds before, but nothing spectacular.

This is the first time I put a load of ‘work’ into a design, i.e. calculating things. Hopefully my maths will turn out ok. I also tried really hard to build this one to a target weight, which I achieved - something I’ve never done before!

Plans are a little bit messy and need cleaning up - because my laptops down at the moment and I have no CAD facility, I had to draw plans by hand at half scale, scan them on to the computer and resize them. However this turned out to be a lot of fun (I like drawing) so I’ll probably do it again, even after my laptops fixed.

Setup -
EMax 2805 1600 Kv brushless with 8 x 6 GWS prop
6 amp oem-rc brushless ESC
2 x 3.8g servos
1 x 4.6 g servo (ailerons)
GWS Naro 4ch receiver

Either 2 cell 460mAh (30g) or 2 cell 800mAh (50g), but I’ve got some 500mAh (around 30g) in the post

All EPP is 5mm. About 2 metres of 2mm CF and 1 metre of 3mm CF were used.

Total weight without battery is around 125g, so AUW is around 160-180g. This gives an uppermost wing loading of about 11 g/dm^2, which should suffice.

Edit

After an indoor session (see post 16) the motor mount was cracked again and I decided to change the fuselage (see post 18). I've now added a picture of Version 2.

Edit 2

plans are up!
Last edited by Hughbert; Dec 06, 2007 at 10:56 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Nov 18, 2007, 02:50 PM
Planes are cool ;)
Thread OP

Steps 1 and 2