New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 30, 2007, 10:25 AM
Heritic is offline
Find More Posts by Heritic
Registered User
Discussion

DX7 Throttle cut if bad signal lo radio power


I know wrong sub section, but on safety grounds can anyone advise the setup to ensure on loss of radio power or signal the motor does not start up.
(have just upgraded from a SIMPLE Futab 6XH)
Thanks
Heritic
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 30, 2007, 10:58 AM
barracudahockey is offline
Find More Posts by barracudahockey
Multi-Platform Pilot
barracudahockey's Avatar
Put the throttle and low and rebind the reciever
Old Oct 30, 2007, 12:13 PM
Wheelhaus is offline
Find More Posts by Wheelhaus
volts x amps = watts.
Wheelhaus's Avatar
Yep, bind the receiver again with all channels in the position you want them to go to if the Rx doesn't see the Tx. This typically means all channels are neutral and throttle is at 0.
Old Oct 30, 2007, 01:06 PM
flypaper 2 is offline
Find More Posts by flypaper 2
Registered User
flypaper 2's Avatar
Also, put the idle trim all the way to the bottom, otherwise, when the signal comes back, it will go to fast idle RPM.

Gord.
Old Oct 30, 2007, 03:08 PM
Wheelhaus is offline
Find More Posts by Wheelhaus
volts x amps = watts.
Wheelhaus's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flypaper 2
Also, put the idle trim all the way to the bottom, otherwise, when the signal comes back, it will go to fast idle RPM.

Gord.
that depends on the ESC, some ESC's won't even register a throttle signal until the throttle % is above a certain point. For a nitro heli, you probably want the engine to be killed, so if radio signal is lost then I agree full negative trim would be a good idea.
Old Oct 31, 2007, 08:22 AM
Heritic is offline
Find More Posts by Heritic
Registered User
I set the esc to between 2-8% on Radio shut down (motor isolated from main gear) motor starts up, I found at 80% on throttle low, a more rapid ESC/motor recovery/control.

Problem must be the binding.
Thanks all will try again.
Appreciated
Heritic
Old Oct 31, 2007, 10:46 PM
AirmanBob is offline
Find More Posts by AirmanBob
Registered User
AirmanBob's Avatar
From what I've read, when the DX7 receiver
lose's power the receiver resets its self and
goes to low throttle while it resets its self.

That takes time...too much time, so you crash.

If its just a loss of signal then it goes into
whatever fail safe mode you've programed
it to do.

Running a seperate BEC would be a good idea
with the Spektrum system.

AB
Old Oct 31, 2007, 11:15 PM
Wheelhaus is offline
Find More Posts by Wheelhaus
volts x amps = watts.
Wheelhaus's Avatar
You mean separate BEC from a separate Rx pack?

I'm running redundant BECs from the main pack and the voltage level is rock solid, even under ultra hard collective movements with high current servos.

With only one BEC, I could get the Rx to shut down during bench testing (I could never move the sticks that fast in flight so I wasn't worried).

If you're worried about low voltage shut down, just run dual BECs instead of a heavy receiver pack that can lose voltage and still cause a shutdown.
Old Nov 01, 2007, 08:22 AM
Heritic is offline
Find More Posts by Heritic
Registered User
Thanks All, sorted, I really found it hard to get the 7000 aand 6001 (mini titan)recievers to bind.
Both ok now croooing fingers.
Be a Bu**er if the recievers regularly need re binding.
BUT for now it is nice to know that on start up I cannot fly the wrong model and the ESC has even more reason NOT to start up.
Appreciated
Heritic
Old Nov 01, 2007, 08:23 AM
Heritic is offline
Find More Posts by Heritic
Registered User
That was Crossed fingers NOT crooing? what the hell did I write that for.
Heritic
Old Nov 01, 2007, 10:40 AM
barracudahockey is offline
Find More Posts by barracudahockey
Multi-Platform Pilot
barracudahockey's Avatar
Get in the habit of rebinding any time you make radio changes


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Spektrum Dx7 Throttle Cut misplacedtexan Radios 2 Sep 27, 2007 07:21 AM
Discussion DX7 throttle cut function. bigandy Radios 2 Jul 27, 2007 03:08 AM
Discussion DX7 Throttle cut in Airplane mode localbuyer Radios 3 Jul 26, 2007 12:50 AM
Discussion Spekrum DX7- programming in idle down and throttle cut attesi Radios 1 Jan 27, 2007 04:10 PM
Pixie20P cut-off and throttle range with a Hitec Focus 3 radio. EGB Castle Creations 1 Apr 23, 2004 06:09 PM