Thread Tools
Old Oct 28, 2007, 02:29 PM
CIS121 is offline
Find More Posts by CIS121
Registered User
Discussion

Ripmax Spitfir - folding or fixed prop???


Hi,

I'm just completing putting this together and would either use a 10 x 7 PC prop or a Graupner folding one.

I land nearly entirely on heather and occasionally grass.

Has anyone used a fixed prop of 10 or 11 inches and had it cause damage or does it just get knocked out of the way and not matter?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 28, 2007, 03:08 PM
MarkJayne is offline
Find More Posts by MarkJayne
Part-Time Super Hero
MarkJayne's Avatar
I use a 10x7 APCE fixed prop and have had no worries. Just make sure your brake is disabled on your ESC.

Mark
Old Oct 28, 2007, 03:27 PM
flemsus is offline
Find More Posts by flemsus
Registered User
I broke 2 fixed, guess what I am using now.
Old Oct 28, 2007, 04:13 PM
Scott Cuppello is offline
Find More Posts by Scott Cuppello
Commercial UAV Pilot
I use a 12x6 fixed, brake off, and never broken a prop!
Old Oct 29, 2007, 12:27 AM
FlyersRus is offline
Find More Posts by FlyersRus
Registered User
My husband uses a fixed prop on his Ripmax plane. I just went and looked at it and it says 11x7 on it. Its a grey thin like prop
Old Oct 29, 2007, 03:49 AM
Bjornr is offline
Find More Posts by Bjornr
Registered User
I use a Grupner folding 11x7 on my spit, very pleased with it. It`s just fun to dive from some altitude, goes like a rocket. I use fixed props on all of my other planes in the same size, and I supose I have broken one or two on prop on every plane, tried with and whitout brackes on the ESC.
High speed belly landings maybe not the best for fixed props
Old Oct 29, 2007, 06:21 PM
CIS121 is offline
Find More Posts by CIS121
Registered User
Guys - why brake off? 've been using my other models with the brake on. Landing wiht the prop spinning greatly increases the chances of it breaking and the brakes will allow the prop to get knocked out of the way as if they weren't on, but will also ensure the prop stops spinning before hitting the ground. I'm baffled!
Old Oct 29, 2007, 06:41 PM
Gary Hoorn is offline
Find More Posts by Gary Hoorn
Chesapeake Bay RC Club
Gary Hoorn's Avatar
Brake on may prevent the prop from moving out of the way on landing. I "belly flop" and have never broken a prop. Close the throttle completely before touchdown.
Gary
Old Oct 30, 2007, 04:10 AM
Bjornr is offline
Find More Posts by Bjornr
Registered User
I do agree brake on. As on my Ripmax Bf 109 I use brake, but after some weeks with nice landings the other day I broken the propeller in the following two landings?? .The third one was realy not a landing but more like an impact, but that is another story.
Old Oct 30, 2007, 01:57 PM
CIS121 is offline
Find More Posts by CIS121
Registered User
How about this for a tactic:

Come in to land, cut power at 15 feet with brake on. If prop rests fairly horizontal, then land, otherwise a blip of power to maintain height and hope it's now horizontal. If not, fly around again
Old Oct 30, 2007, 02:17 PM
MarkJayne is offline
Find More Posts by MarkJayne
Part-Time Super Hero
MarkJayne's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by CIS121
How about this for a tactic:

Come in to land, cut power at 15 feet with brake on. If prop rests fairly horizontal, then land, otherwise a blip of power to maintain height and hope it's now horizontal. If not, fly around again
Tell me your joking

Mark
Old Oct 30, 2007, 02:32 PM
leccyflyer is offline
Find More Posts by leccyflyer
Sloping off....
leccyflyer's Avatar
Have broken a few 11x7 APC-E props on my funfighters over the years and my boy broke an 8x6 APC-E on his Ripmax Spit maiden - al brake off, belly landed on short grass. You can go ten flights without breaking one, then break two in a row. Some people use the orange Perkins flexy props but after having bought a couple of those I haven't broken an APC-E.
Old Oct 30, 2007, 03:48 PM
nileinstaller is offline
Find More Posts by nileinstaller
heli test pilot
nileinstaller's Avatar
I went straight to a 10x7 folding prop , but even with the brake on the prop still windmills
Old Oct 31, 2007, 05:29 AM
Scott Cuppello is offline
Find More Posts by Scott Cuppello
Commercial UAV Pilot
I must be lucky, I have never broken a prop.....mind you....the lack of glue on the firewall is usually what gives way first! The O/E spinner breaks, I do actually like the look of it, but it's fragile, but Iv'e never broken a prop.....with brake off.
Old Nov 02, 2007, 05:18 AM
redtail is offline
Find More Posts by redtail
Registered User
Hi CIS121 -Redtail again!I use a folding prop,works really well,because of the front fuselage shape the prop flushes against the sides very well,hence never broken a prop in 3 years.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folding or non-folding on Ripmax Spitfire Giz Power Systems 35 May 04, 2004 05:42 PM
Wind-milling Prop or Stopped Prop? Slow Riser Power Systems 47 Jan 12, 2004 08:56 PM
IPS motor breakin= Prop or no Prop? jayboy Parkflyers 13 Mar 25, 2002 11:56 AM
Big prop-low rpm or small prop-high rpm Ninjak2k Power Systems 10 Feb 13, 2002 05:28 PM
Folding Prop or Fixed??? atckirk Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 3 May 30, 2001 10:06 AM