New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 25, 2007, 11:22 PM
GhostRider32 is offline
Find More Posts by GhostRider32
Registered User
Discussion

DragonOSD


Guys, I am thinking of buying the Dragon or another OSD in a few weeks but I need to know, will the OSD's work with any setup or do I need to order specific video equipment? I am planning on ordering a 900mhz system from one of the big 4 companies that we hear of so much on here, just don't know which one yet. I plan on ordering the video stuff sometime tomorrow. Thanks for the help.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 25, 2007, 11:51 PM
VRflyer is offline
Find More Posts by VRflyer
Live FPV or Die
VRflyer's Avatar
Dragon osd is still in devellopement stage as I know and still not available.
Aeroosd first batch is release this week, check all the feature. The osd is very easy to use and have amazing possibilties like downloading up to 8 preselected waypoint using google earth, and it have also return home arrow, current, voltage sensor etc.

Check the price, very attractive
Old Oct 26, 2007, 12:01 AM
twinturbostang is offline
Find More Posts by twinturbostang
Fly FPV, sleep; repeat
twinturbostang's Avatar
Not to start a pissing contest, but DragonOSD is shipping I believe. They may have sold out of the initial batch, but more are on the way. And does the AeroOSD have return to home autopilot? Having a return home "arrow" is one thing. But having the ability to guide the plane home on loss of signal is completely different (and much better I might add). DragonOSD has this capability.
Old Oct 26, 2007, 12:32 AM
JMSTECH is offline
Find More Posts by JMSTECH
Registered User
JMSTECH's Avatar
Yeah... Dragon ( what a cool name! ) I believe has been shipped out and distributed to those happy homes. Only a few Almost Ready To Fly is available (check RC-CAM) Boy she does pack a punch and what will those brilliant boys think of next for Miss Dragon? Perhaps a fancy ring tone upon start up?
Old Oct 26, 2007, 12:34 AM
GhostRider32 is offline
Find More Posts by GhostRider32
Registered User
Good things to know guys but are they compatable with the 900 MHZ systems currently available? I want to make sure that what I buy will be OSD compatable regardless of which OSD I choose, I mean, will the OSD hook to the equipment I buy? Thanks.
Old Oct 26, 2007, 12:35 AM
JettPilot is online now
Find More Posts by JettPilot
JettPilot's Avatar
I bought a Dragon OSD, they were for sale on the intelligent flight website. They had a limit of 1 per customer, so I had to be 2 different people ( Not really hahah, I can wiat for the other 3 I need ).

IF you cannot get the dragon, I would immagine it wont be long before batch number 2 is available. The dragon has the rudder home capability, a very important feature. The price is good, and the Dragon is by far the best OSD you can get. I would highly suggest waiting for the Dragon, you will be very glad you did.

JettPilot
Site Sponsor
Old Oct 26, 2007, 01:13 AM
twinturbostang is offline
Find More Posts by twinturbostang
Fly FPV, sleep; repeat
twinturbostang's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by GhostRider32
Good things to know guys but are they compatable with the 900 MHZ systems currently available? I want to make sure that what I buy will be OSD compatable regardless of which OSD I choose, I mean, will the OSD hook to the equipment I buy? Thanks.
It's an On Screen Display unit. Video IN and Video OUT. That has nothing to do with 900MHz, 2.4GHz, etc. As long as your video camera has a composite Video OUT, and your video transmitter has a composite Video IN, then you're good to go.
Old Oct 26, 2007, 05:31 AM
thomasscherrer is offline
Find More Posts by thomasscherrer
Registered User
thomasscherrer's Avatar
be aware of all those OSD's uses GPS units as their main input.
some video transmitters are known to jam GPS units !
so installation distance is the best way !
900 and 1300Mhz users must be extra carefull !
it is known to be less problematic at 2.4GHz.
Old Oct 26, 2007, 08:30 AM
GhostRider32 is offline
Find More Posts by GhostRider32
Registered User
Thanks all.
Old Oct 26, 2007, 09:28 AM
twinturbostang is offline
Find More Posts by twinturbostang
Fly FPV, sleep; repeat
twinturbostang's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by thomasscherrer
be aware of all those OSD's uses GPS units as their main input.
some video transmitters are known to jam GPS units !
so installation distance is the best way !
900 and 1300Mhz users must be extra carefull !
it is known to be less problematic at 2.4GHz.
Didn't know that. Thanks for the info. What frequency do GPS satellites operate on?
Old Oct 26, 2007, 09:35 AM
Daniel Wee is offline
Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Registered User
GPS runs on 1575MHz. Sometimes it is not the direct signal that affects the GPS's front end but:-

1. The sheer power swamping out the sensitive front end.
2. Spurs or harmonics from some lower fundamental frequency.
3. Interference unrelated to the fundamental frequency.

So Thomas is correct in that the best way to deal with this is to keep the GPS antenna away from other transmitting elements (or in some cases, interference emitters such as the KX-131).

You could also go the longer route of adding a bandpass filter to the GPS module, which will be a bit more involved as well as introduce some insertion loss. In some cases, this could possibly be the only recourse. This approach will require proper test equipment though, and isn't exactly trivial.

Daniel
Old Oct 26, 2007, 11:02 AM
AnthonyRC is offline
Find More Posts by AnthonyRC
Registered User
AnthonyRC's Avatar
I've noticed with the EB85As, that putting them beside a 2.4GHz Tx, even 5-6 inches away, doesn't cause problems (both mounted on top of the fuselage)
On my Cularis, the GPS module is mounted on the fuselage, and the 2.4GHz Tx is up with the camera, on a 12" pylon. In this configuration it is barely usable.

So its not only the distance that matters, its the positioning of the GPS antenna relative to the 2.4GHz source.
Old Oct 27, 2007, 07:54 AM
Mark Harris is offline
Find More Posts by Mark Harris
Registered User
Mark Harris's Avatar
Well, it looks as though we now have ready to fly units back ordered, and 4 ARF units available.

If you'd like a dragon sooner rather than later, you can order the ARF and connect the BOB-4SG (which you supply) by yourself, it's not hard.
http://www.intelligentflight.com/sto...products_id=34 - Select "Almost Ready" on the right hand side.

The price will be increased on the next batch, so if you'd like to get a DragonOSD at this price, back order one now New units should get here hopefully in one month.

- Mark
Old Oct 27, 2007, 08:40 AM
GhostRider32 is offline
Find More Posts by GhostRider32
Registered User
How much increase are you looking at?
Old Oct 27, 2007, 01:51 PM
workshop is offline
Find More Posts by workshop
Closed Account
"Having a return home "arrow" is one thing. But having the ability to guide the plane home on loss of signal is completely different (and much better I might add). DragonOSD has this capability."

You're freakin' kidding me right?... I have one of these in the mail and I'm wondering how I missed this feature! That more than justifies the price AND price increase (whatever it is)... An OSD and PicoPilot(like) RTH AND GPS receiver in one unit! Holy CRAP!

My hat is off to Daniel and Mark if the above is true. Amazing guys!

Jeff


Thread Tools