Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by JimDrew, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Mar 26, 2011, 08:45 AM
Registered User
Not clear about removing Cockpit MM RF board. Is just removing the crystal and standard antenna enough or is there more that is not apparent in the photographs. Also, is the rf board and antenna stripped from the standard universal module with 6 inch bare wire? I plan to upgrade my Cockpit with this module and want to be sure that I get everything I need.

My first modern transmitter was the 1967 Microavionics. Since then, I have owned Proline single stick and two stick transmitters, Ace Silver Seven, Futaba, JR, Airtronics Infinity, Hitec, Micropro, Cockpit MM, and Evo transmitters. Of these, the Cockpit MM was my favorite. My biggest disappointment with the Evo was that it was so much bigger and lacked the feel and ballance of the MM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 26, 2011, 12:36 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
If you don't have the synth module, you just pull the crystal. If you do have the synth module, you must remove it.

You need the EVO module for the Cockpit MM. The Universal module's pigtail is too short.
Jun 12, 2011, 09:15 PM
Registered User

Photo Cockpit MM.XPS board connection


Hi Jim,

re. XPS connection.
The internal TX board I have was sold in Australia with the Cockpit SX tx.
I am fitting it to the Cockpit MM as per photos.

The XPS module is marked v1.065. looking down on the board with the
small connector as the bottom edge & antenna lead at the top, from the
left,
No. 1 is BLUE wire.
2 nil.
3 RED
4 BLACK

Has there been a change. Is my board or photo wrong?
All help gratefully received.

Norm.
Jun 13, 2011, 01:23 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
The picture I posted of the Cockpit MM install is correct. You just need a standard servo plug to interface into our board (using our bare harness).
Jun 13, 2011, 02:26 AM
Registered User

Photo Cockpit MM.


Hi Jim.

Thanks for fast reply. I may not have been clear explaining. Mine
was supplied with a short lead. It is the LEAD plug (into XPS board) I
meant.
The photo shows, Mine is,
No.1 RED No.1 BLUE
2 nil 2 nil
3 WHITE 3 RED
4 BLACK 4 BLACK

Once again thanks.
Norm.
Jun 13, 2011, 02:32 AM
Registered User

Photo Cockpit MM.


Sorry Jim.
That did not come out as I typed it, but you can see what I mean ( I hope ).
Norm.
Jun 13, 2011, 09:40 AM
Xtreme Power Systems
I am confused. The board pin out (blue, n.c., red, black) is correct. What is your question?
Jun 13, 2011, 06:48 PM
Registered User

Photo Cockpit MM.


Hi Jim.

Re your last reply.
Board pin out. Blue. nc. Red. Black.
My board & Lead Blue. nc. Red. Black.
Photo RED. nc. White.Black.

In photo the Red and White (Blue) are transposed, or is this because of
the tx board?

Thanks Norm.
Jun 13, 2011, 10:05 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
The servo connection used with the installation I did doesn't match the bare harness that comes with the module. Instead of using our normal harness, I used a servo pigtail.
Jun 14, 2011, 12:17 AM
Registered User

Photo Cockpit MM.


Hi Jim.

I've got it now. Don't know why you were confused, my wife
says I been that way for the last 50 yrs.

Thanks again
Norm.
Jun 29, 2011, 06:38 PM
Registered User

XPS for JR 11X 2.4 DSMX


Please Jim, develops transmitter module for JR 11X 2.4 DCMX which sells Horizon
Jun 29, 2011, 06:51 PM
Registered User

Replace DCMX for XPS on 11X 2.4 (Horizon)


I want to replace that impractical DCMX system.

I am very happy with my PCM10X with XPS, But, I want to use the 11X, but does not work. I think it does not emit a PPM signal or is not valid............

Thank you Jim !!!
Dec 28, 2011, 10:33 PM
Registered User
HELLO.I have a ko propo ex10 helios car radio i need to make it a 2.4 can you tell me what i need to do.can you help with this it wood be nice to have your system at the track that i race at.thanks jim hope you can help.i also fly rc air planes.
Dec 29, 2011, 12:08 PM
Xtreme Power Systems
There is an adapter made by some company that allows you to use a Futaba module with the KO PROPO transmitters. Using this adapter, you can use our Futaba module.
Jan 07, 2012, 08:06 AM
Chillaxin dude!
BulletMaster's Avatar
japo_2.. get the 11X Zero module version. then you can use the XPS module with the tx.. that's what I did!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What the terrorists are attacking jbourke Life, The Universe, and Politics 42 Jul 21, 2006 08:01 AM
Heli Radio Needed What are your sudgestions? rspiegel Electric Heli Talk 14 Sep 13, 2002 01:00 PM
What pitch are the gears in the Great Planes GB? slowflyer Sport Planes 1 Oct 04, 2001 10:27 PM
What cells are you using in your Sokols? Jensst High Performance 10 Jul 13, 2001 08:43 AM
Hitec radio systems...how good are they? luv2fly Electric Sailplanes 6 Apr 24, 2001 01:49 PM