Thread Tools
Old Jan 28, 2008, 03:14 PM
MGBGTRacer is offline
Find More Posts by MGBGTRacer
RCAPA #005
MGBGTRacer's Avatar
or when quality matters much...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2008, 08:42 AM
jackchen is offline
Find More Posts by jackchen
Registered User
Is it possible that I can get a mode1 radio system with the RTF set?
Old Jan 30, 2008, 01:29 AM
bigedmustafa is offline
Find More Posts by bigedmustafa
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jackchen
Is it possible that I can get a mode1 radio system with the RTF set?
You can send the transmitter into Hobby Services and they will convert it to Mode 1 for you, although there may be a nominal charge for the service.
Old Jan 30, 2008, 06:35 AM
Jim Young is offline
Find More Posts by Jim Young
Designer/Builder
Jim Young's Avatar
The 6EXAP included with this plane in programmable and can be switched to Mode 1 (or 3 or 4). The radio manual describes how to do this.

-Jim
Old Jan 30, 2008, 10:42 AM
jackchen is offline
Find More Posts by jackchen
Registered User
Thanks a lot!
Old Feb 06, 2008, 03:58 PM
dawnron1 is offline
Find More Posts by dawnron1
"Have Glue - Will Travel"
dawnron1's Avatar
Nice review, Jim!
Old Feb 09, 2008, 08:25 PM
nickflyer is offline
Find More Posts by nickflyer
Monday? Not again...
nickflyer's Avatar
I'm coming back to RC planes after a year or so off. Nice review Jim by the way, but I always thought that a wing loading of >10 oz/sq ft was to much for a trainer? Is this just a general guideline?
Old Feb 10, 2008, 08:43 AM
Jim Young is offline
Find More Posts by Jim Young
Designer/Builder
Jim Young's Avatar
Hi Nick,

In general, for a ".40" size plane (Trainer or sport) a wing loading of 20 to 25 oz/ft^2 will give a very flyable plane. Biplanes are typically under 20oz/ft^2 and larger planes (IMAA 80"+) can tolerate higher wing loadings in the range if 25 to 35 oz/ft^2. A lot of gliders shoot for a 10oz/ft^2 wing loading or less. For smaller planes, lighter wing loadings are a must.

Also keep in mind that for the NexStar, the wing loading is calculated from just the wing area. Now, add in the leading edge extensions and the speed brakes and the wing loading will be a bit less and the aerodynamics are improved.

The rule of thumb is that the stall speed is equal to 3.7 times the square root of the wing loading. So, for my NexStar the stall speed is 3.7 x 4.72 = 17.47mph which is pretty reasonable.

-Jim
Old Feb 10, 2008, 06:55 PM
nickflyer is offline
Find More Posts by nickflyer
Monday? Not again...
nickflyer's Avatar
Thanks a lot Jim, that really cleared stuff up. So a lower stall speed will allow the plane to act more like a glider correct?
Last edited by nickflyer; Feb 10, 2008 at 07:27 PM.
Old Feb 10, 2008, 11:26 PM
BlueBeaver is offline
Find More Posts by BlueBeaver
Registered User
Thanks for the review, Jim. Bought the Nexstar EP yesterday on your advise. Now I need more!!. Should I use 2S+3S or just one 5S? What about 3200mAh or can I go up? Use Electrifly's Power Series or Thunder Power's new Extreme V2 series? Looking for maximum run time. Ist RC Airplane. Got RealFlight's new G4. Love flying Nexstar EP on computer. Can't wait to fly the real thing.
Old Feb 11, 2008, 06:57 AM
Jim Young is offline
Find More Posts by Jim Young
Designer/Builder
Jim Young's Avatar
Hi Nick,

Yup, lower wing loading = lower stall speed = more like a glider.

BB,

The battery selection depends on your charger situation and your soldering skills. If you have a charger that will handle the 5S pack, then by all means go with the 5S. However, you will need to remove one of the connectors from the NexStar's power system since it is set up to run two packs in series out of the box. To do this you'll need a good 40W soldering iron and some shrink tubing.

I'm using 3200mAhr packs and we're getting around 10 minutes of flight time with most of the time at less than 1/2 throttle. Our NexStar came in at the lower end of the weight range, so you should not have a problem going up in capacity. Any of the major brands should be fine. You'll only be drawing 30-35 Amps, so in this capacity range you only need a 10C to 15C rated cell. Higher C ratings are always better, but you don't need a pack capably of 100A for this plane.

-Jim
Old Feb 12, 2008, 04:08 AM
BlueBeaver is offline
Find More Posts by BlueBeaver
Registered User
Thanks Jim,

Doing surgery on the wiring today. Thought 5000aAh 25c would last longer than 3200mAh 20c.

gary
Old Feb 12, 2008, 08:10 PM
Superbee13 is offline
Find More Posts by Superbee13
AMA 854276
I purchased the Electrastar last November. Wish I had waited for the Nexstar. The Nexstar had just come out and were backordered at the time. I just HAD to have my new plane and couldn't wait for the backorder :-). Then they dropped the price on the Electrastar to $199 after Jan 1st. I imagine that they will replace the Electrastar with the Nexstar as soon as they can.
Old Feb 13, 2008, 07:36 PM
Stephen M is offline
Find More Posts by Stephen M
Registered User
Stephen M's Avatar

Simulator Questions


Thanks for the great review Jim. A couple of questions on the included simulator.

What are the system requirements? I can't find it on the Tower site.

Is the included simulator a complete, although stripped down, copy or is just an add on to a regular copy of Real Flight? Do I have to get a 'regular' copy of the flight sim and this is only a plane to install in the 'regular' copy?

Looking at it for my 8 year old who has been on the sticks, on and off, for the past three years. Will strip and sell the Futaba system out and use the Infinity 660 I picked up from you. Based on Keith's skill and patience he must be a great instructor for your son.

Stephen Madjanovich
Old Feb 14, 2008, 08:16 AM
Jim Young is offline
Find More Posts by Jim Young
Designer/Builder
Jim Young's Avatar
Hi Stephan,

I'll have to check the system requirements, but they are pretty basic. I did need to install the latest sound card driver update, but this was pretty straight forward. The Futaba transmitter has a square trainer cord port in the back and this plugs into a USB interface and into your PC. The flight sim software is a stripped down version and just has the NexStar with and w/o the PA2 enables and one flying site. I believe you can upgrade it with the Real Flight expansion packs. So, you may want to stick with the stock system if you plan on using the simulator.

Keith is a great instructor, he is much more patient than me.

-Jim


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hobbico SuperStar EP Select RTF w/Ailerons Newby Kyonic Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 8 Aug 20, 2008 01:42 PM
For Sale NEW Hobbico SuperStar EP 4ch RTF w/Ailerons NEVER FLOWN!! plus Brand New Upgrades Bmr4life Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 11 Aug 07, 2006 11:06 AM
Increasing flight time on a Hobbico SuperStar EP Select Plane AMarkIII Electric Plane Talk 2 May 18, 2005 08:48 PM
Hobbico superstar EP select is a winner tic Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 8 Nov 13, 2003 03:05 PM