Sep 23, 2007, 04:02 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Bubble Dancer

Hi folks
I have just completed the building of a Bubble dancer type model,I used a laser art kit for the ribs.
Set up C/G to 100ml as recommended ,no warps in wings ,lightened the tip panels.
But it tip stalls like mad, if i just introduce a small turning moment.
Only use small rudder deflection
Any one had a Tip stall problem with a Bubble dancer?
If so did you cure it and how please
I have a lot of years of experience but this one has me foxed
Help please
Good lift
Dandiy
to remove ads between posts
Sep 23, 2007, 04:22 PM
This is typical of an aileron plane with no differential or no rudder coupling. You have no ailerons, so obviously not the problem.

Recheck each wing panel carefully. Check for wash-in or apparent neutral especially in the tip panels. Even a little wash-in in the center, mid or tip panels will cause this problem. Once you have the main and mids dead straight, add some washout to the tip. This should cure the tip stall. You don't need much, if you can get the tip TE 1/4" up with the tip panel root level, you should be fine.

JT
Sep 23, 2007, 04:24 PM
∞ Boundary Layer
Try increasing the wash-out in the wingtips. (Twist-em down a bit while heating the covering) A degree or so @ each tip will show some improvements in the tip-stall characteristic. Keep tweaking them bit by bit 'til satisfied. You may want to get an inverter & try to operate a monocote heat-gun off of your car battery so this can be done at the field (some have been rumored to use car exhaust heat).
Sep 23, 2007, 05:18 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dandiy
I have just completed the building of a Bubble dancer type model,I used a laser art kit for the ribs. Set up C/G to 100ml as recommended ,no warps in wings ,lightened the tip panels. But it tip stalls like mad, if i just introduce a small turning moment.
Did you put in the required amount of washout into the mid panels?
This is essential on the BD.