Thread Tools
Sep 19, 2007, 05:31 AM
Registered User
quax's Avatar
Mini-HowTo

Motor PWM to PPM impulse converter


For my coax heli I've build a PWM to PPM converter with an ATtiny13. I think, a little hint to that converter may also be placed here

http://home.versanet.de/~b-konze/koa...bl-koax_01.zip

Here is the original coax-thread:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=744169

cul
quax
Last edited by quax; Sep 19, 2007 at 05:38 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 20, 2008, 12:26 AM
Registered User
Nice work.

Which file would I use for 5G6?

TIA

Dave
May 20, 2008, 03:38 PM
Registered User
quax's Avatar
My best experience was using the 10ms version. With the 20ms version the tail was swinging.

cul
quax
May 20, 2008, 03:55 PM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Need to file this away when I get home for future use.
Jun 08, 2008, 04:18 AM
Registered User
Hello quax,

What is value of cap on converter?

TIA

Dave
Jun 08, 2008, 05:06 AM
Registered User
Almaz's Avatar
That is great! By any chance do you have the code in basic? I don't have programmer for ATtiny13. I use microchips for my project with Enhanced JDM PIC programmer and would like to know more info how to convert it using PIC MicroChip.
Jun 08, 2008, 12:33 PM
For Sale-everything over 250 g
Hi quax,
I would also like to use a PIC chip, 10Fxxx if possible, for a single channel converter. I would like to use a brushless motor with the Parkzone Cessna brick rx/servos.
Thanks in advance for any help you can offer.
Mike
Jun 08, 2008, 03:13 PM
Registered User
quax's Avatar
Hi,

I think, a PIC version of the converter is also available out there in the web.

Because I'm not very familiar with PICs, but with AVRs, I made an AVR version. Maybe the code can be transferred to a high level language, but I don't know. The pulse generation needs a capture compare unit, but I think, they are also available unsing PICs

cul
quax
Jun 08, 2008, 04:14 PM
For Sale-everything over 250 g
Thanks Quax,
All I can find are lots of servo pulse to motor PWM converters, I'll keep looking.
Mike
Jun 08, 2008, 05:53 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by david_dewit
Hello quax,

What is value of cap on converter?

TIA

Dave
...
Jun 09, 2008, 02:49 AM
Registered User
quax's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by david_dewit
Hello quax,

What is value of cap on converter?

TIA

Dave
Should be a ceramic 100nF cap, as it is used for circuits to block spikes.

cul
quax
Jun 15, 2008, 06:36 PM
Registered User
I made converter as described for 5g6 2.4G and it is not working??? Studio4 said programmed ok. When powered up led on converter is solid for three seconds then starts flashing. Escs beep continueously, nothing from motors, servos work.?????? Tried all three programs 6ms 10ms and 20ms.

Dave
Jun 16, 2008, 02:07 PM
Registered User
quax's Avatar
Hi Dave,

did you uncheck he CKDIV8 button?

cul
quax
Jun 16, 2008, 05:28 PM
Registered User
Hi Berard,

Yes I did. Maybe I am not doing it properly.
I am using studio4 which has different fuse box. I might make pony prog programmer today and use that. I have programmed many many pics before and some avr.

Thanks
Dave
Jun 16, 2008, 05:33 PM
Inciting Riots
village_idiot's Avatar
Setting fuses in AVRStudio is pretty trivial.Try setting the divX8 fuse and see what happens. The uncheck the box and program it again. Which programmer are you using to program this chip?