Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Aug 14, 2007, 07:15 AM
chaosMurphy is offline
Find More Posts by chaosMurphy
Registered HotGlue Addict
chaosMurphy's Avatar
firstshirt,

If you’ve got an ‘E’ size flatbed, that knock on your door is me !!!

“”I chose "Page Scaling" = "None" and left "Auto-Rotate and Center" unchecked.
Do I need to choose "Auto-Rotate and Center?" (Tell it yes?) Do anything different on "Page Scaling?"” firstshirt

I do all the above plus…my ‘version7’ has a box “choose paper size by PDF page size” I check BUT don’t know if that makes any difference. From that same ‘window drop’ menu click ‘properties’ (upper right corner), some printers allow adjustments such as ‘margin size’ or ‘borderless printing’.

Best I can do with my 8.5 X 11 printer and Adobe leaves a 3/16 inch border not printed…
Maybe try a ‘sharpie’? With my ‘stand off scale’ models you can’t that gap from your house.

“”Do I need to choose "Auto-Rotate and Center?" (Tell it yes?) Do anything different on "Page Scaling?"”

May try this, from Adobe ‘Edit’ menu copy each page to the clipboard then save as a bmp image to your image processor folder. Some image processors allow borderless printing. Doing a document this size would be very time consuming.

I’m hopeful some of the guys here can tell us a better/quicker method :>)

Thanks for sharing :>)
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 14, 2007, 07:21 AM
kdahlhaus is offline
Find More Posts by kdahlhaus
Registered User
kdahlhaus's Avatar
I've had good luck 'printing' a large image from MS-Paint (comes w/windows, right click on the file in file explorer and it should be on the 'open with' menu) to the 'PDF Creator' printer driver. That is a free pseudo printer that saves whatever is printed to it into PDF.
Then one can print the resulting PDF to the normal color printer and it will be tiled with borders, but paint adjusts the image content to account for the borders.

The tiled bird-dog above was created with this method.
Old Aug 14, 2007, 07:55 AM
gpw is offline
gpw
Find More Posts by gpw
gpw
“There’s no place like Foam”
gpw's Avatar
MS showed us how to use TILEPRINT , and it's so easy ...we have to find better photos to scan ,so they don't pixelate(go fuzzy) so bad when enlarged...
Old Aug 14, 2007, 08:02 AM
FirstShirt is offline
Find More Posts by FirstShirt
You deserve my opinion
FirstShirt's Avatar
Gramps, Thanks so much. I'll play around with that and see what I can do. Appreciate your help!

GPW, I have Tileprint and it works great. Yep, I think we'd need a high quality single sheet pdf to begin with in order to make it work. That would be a great solution since we could then scale it to any size we wanted.
Old Aug 14, 2007, 10:41 AM
CloudPatrol is offline
Find More Posts by CloudPatrol
I'm Back I think
CloudPatrol's Avatar
I drew this in adobe illustrator a couple years ago. To bad I lost all my programs and files and didnt keep working on this stuff, I might have been good at it by now lol p39
Last edited by CloudPatrol; Aug 14, 2007 at 10:48 AM.
Old Aug 14, 2007, 10:43 AM
kdahlhaus is offline
Find More Posts by kdahlhaus
Registered User
kdahlhaus's Avatar
That's very good. Don't see too many aircobra's. Are the wings lost as well?
Old Aug 14, 2007, 10:46 AM
CloudPatrol is offline
Find More Posts by CloudPatrol
I'm Back I think
CloudPatrol's Avatar
Yea they are, I remember building the plane with some spit fire wings and never flew it.
While walking down memory lane I found this short 2 page thread I started https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=429711. I see you were there lol
Last edited by CloudPatrol; Aug 14, 2007 at 10:55 AM. Reason: I'm the edit King
Old Aug 14, 2007, 10:56 AM
kdahlhaus is offline
Find More Posts by kdahlhaus
Registered User
kdahlhaus's Avatar
Maybe someone will pick up where you left off. I've a ME-109 in process.
Old Aug 14, 2007, 11:03 AM
CloudPatrol is offline
Find More Posts by CloudPatrol
I'm Back I think
CloudPatrol's Avatar
I doubt it. The plane was personalized with my freq. number and name for air combat. And without the right view, the words and number would be backwards
Old Aug 14, 2007, 11:07 AM
kdahlhaus is offline
Find More Posts by kdahlhaus
Registered User
kdahlhaus's Avatar
Good point.
Old Aug 14, 2007, 12:30 PM
MyDigitalParadis is offline
Find More Posts by MyDigitalParadis
Callsign: Jolly Roger
MyDigitalParadis's Avatar
Stick up a 3 view. Would likely have to be done from scratch as the shading will be hard to duplicate. The words and numbers is an easy photoshop fix though.
Old Aug 14, 2007, 12:44 PM
gpw is offline
gpw
Find More Posts by gpw
gpw
“There’s no place like Foam”
gpw's Avatar
If we start with a real good photo , it'll end Up looking like the real thing ...
Old Aug 14, 2007, 12:59 PM
critterhunter is offline
Find More Posts by critterhunter
Registered User
critterhunter's Avatar
A few what could be stupid questions or thoughts...

Has anybody ever heard of somebody taking a real photo of a plane and blowing that up to make prints and spray glue on? I've been kicking around that idea for a while but don't know if it's workable. A neat little aspect of it would be you could take a picture of a real plane with a rich history, name and all, to duplicate.

My other question revolves around the TA-183 color print. I'm getting near (one to two weeks or so) to the build date for this bird. As said, trying to blow up the beautiful color print somebody has done to roughly a 3' wingspan causes it to blur big time. If I took a 5 megapixel digital picture of the print with my camcorder and then attempted to blow that up in size, would I still get as bad of a blur?

Last option: Since some of you seem to have experience at cleaning up prints, what's the process of doing so? Are you starting from scratch, or somehow "grabbing" a "sample" of the original unblurred print and then using that to brush out the blown up image?
Old Aug 14, 2007, 01:20 PM
MyDigitalParadis is offline
Find More Posts by MyDigitalParadis
Callsign: Jolly Roger
MyDigitalParadis's Avatar
Any picutres will likely have some serious aspect issues which can and often will through off the balance of the plane. If you have a top and side view though you can blow up the 3view to the size of the plane to be built. After that take you picutre and "strech" it to match the 3view. This isn't too difficult if you are good with photoshop but it will require a very high quality picture or it will be very grainy.

What I find works best is to do the above mentioned but then use either photoshop or illustrator to redraw the plane in it's entirety. That requires a fair bit of photoshop or illustrator skill but there are enough sites out there that you can learn how to do that simply by going though enough tutorials. I did, by the time I finally took classes on them it was mainly a review.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Video 3DFoamy.com Super Caps part 2! Midairs and more flyfalcons Electric Plane Talk 1 Jul 10, 2006 10:54 PM
For Sale A handful of STUFF Part 2... added more. Blaze.45 Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 17 Apr 09, 2006 12:41 PM
Jim Bourke's Moving Sale Part 2 -- Brushless motors jbourke Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Aug 07, 2001 03:00 AM
Hornet CP .... finally ... part 2 cyhyam Electric Heli Talk 90 Aug 05, 2001 10:40 PM
MIA's 12" House FLY Sub-Micro! NEWS!!! (Part 2) MicroRotors Electric Heli Talk 10 Jul 27, 2001 04:19 PM