Aug 07, 2007, 11:00 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

A bunch of motor links for you, please help me choose a setup.

Hi all, I'm asking for some help, but I have searched first...way too much actually. And I'm going to leave links to help as well.

The plane will be about 27-30 oz. all up weight, that's assuming a 70 gram motor.

The plane is a Cessna/Cub style foamie with full house controls and large control surfaces. I forget the wing loading, but it came out really low as it has a large wing, I believe it was 11 or so on the chart, on the low trainer range loading. Sorry, I'm a bit new to this and I can't find that wing loading calc. and don't have the cord measurements in front of me.

Since this thing can handle some weight I thought it might be fun to give this baby some power. Not sure if that will be too much against it's nature though?

My budget is tight. I'm looking at mostly UH motors. If there is another motor though that is only about 30 dollars I would consider paying the extra, so feel free to tell me what you think about the Scorpions, Welgard, Ele motors of the world as well.

https://www.unitedhobbies.com/UNITED...idProduct=5112

70 grams, 63 for the D version

https://www.unitedhobbies.com/UNITED...idProduct=3883

77 grams

https://www.unitedhobbies.com/UNITED...idProduct=4700

56 grams

https://www.unitedhobbies.com/UNITED...idProduct=2105

67 grams

https://www.unitedhobbies.com/UNITED...idProduct=2106

85 grams

These weight's don't seem right, but I'm a newbie so I don't know. The TP I have seen in person and from the pictures some of these other motors look pretty huge, but the weight's listed don't seem much different except the 22-20L. I saw a pic of the 35-30 and thought it looked huge.

I would like to run 2S in parallel, maybe 850 mah or so in order to allow me to have some cells to use in smaller models. I can go a bit bigger if I have to though.

Do you think I could run on 2S at all? Not sure if 2S can put up a 25 ounce bird?